Search Unity

  1. Engage, network and learn at Unite Austin 2017, Oct 3 - 5. Get your ticket today!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out all the fixes for 5.6 on the patch releases page.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Unity 2017.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2017.2 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

SketchUp 2016 import not working?

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by MV10, Dec 14, 2015.

  1. MV10

    MV10

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Posts:
    1,847
    Under Unity 5.2 and SketchUp 2015, I had no problem importing SKP models.
    I just updated to Unity 5.3 and SketchUp 2016 and it doesn't seem to like the 2016 SKP files.

    I attached a couple simple files as examples. The 2015 file gets material and texture subfolders and the expected imported mesh details if you expand the model icon.

    The 2016 file only gets a texture subfolder and the generic file icon and is not imported. Reimport does nothing. No error messages or any of the sort.

    Edit: I noticed SketchUp's "save as" allows saving to older formats, and the same model saved as a 2015 file does load, so it isn't the model.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 14, 2015
  2. ix3000

    ix3000

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue with me. I just updated to unity 5.3.4f1 and use SketchupPro 2016.
    The import does not work and also Import new asset is not doing the import.
    When i save as sketchup 2015 it works fine.
    However the import model section appears.

    Maybe this helps as well:
    When clicking on the "Select Nodes..." button it throws an exception
    IndexOutOfRangeException: Array index is out of range.
    at UnityEditor.SketchUpDataSource.FetchData () [0x00000] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Src\SketchUp\Mono\SketchUpImportDlg.cs:94
    at UnityEditor.SketchUpDataSource..ctor (UnityEditor.TreeView treeView, UnityEditor.SketchUpNodeInfo[] nodes) [0x0000e] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Src\SketchUp\Mono\SketchUpImportDlg.cs:69
    at UnityEditor.SketchUpImportDlg.Init (UnityEditor.SketchUpNodeInfo[] nodes, UnityEditor.SketchUpImporterModelEditor suModelEditor) [0x0008d] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Src\SketchUp\Mono\SketchUpImportDlg.cs:235
    at UnityEditor.SketchUpImportDlg.Launch (UnityEditor.SketchUpNodeInfo[] nodes, UnityEditor.SketchUpImporterModelEditor suModelEditor) [0x00006] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Src\SketchUp\Mono\SketchUpImportDlg.cs:253
    at UnityEditor.SketchUpImporterModelEditor.OnInspectorGUI () [0x001a3] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Src\SketchUp\Mono\SketchUpImporterModelEditor.cs:121
    at UnityEditor.AssetImporterTabbedEditor.OnInspectorGUI () [0x000bf] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\Inspector\TabbedEditor.cs:126
    at UnityEditor.InspectorWindow.DrawEditor (UnityEditor.Editor editor, Int32 editorIndex, Boolean rebuildOptimizedGUIBlock, System.Boolean& showImportedObjectBarNext, UnityEngine.Rect& importedObjectBarRect) [0x00353] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\Inspector\InspectorWindow.cs:1231
    UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:Internal_LogException(Exception, Object)
    UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:LogException(Exception, Object)
    UnityEngine.Logger:LogException(Exception, Object)
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogException(Exception)
    UnityEditor.InspectorWindow:DrawEditor(Editor, Int32, Boolean, Boolean&, Rect&) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\Inspector\InspectorWindow.cs:1241)
    UnityEditor.InspectorWindow:DrawEditors(Editor[]) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\Inspector\InspectorWindow.cs:1028)
    UnityEditor.InspectorWindow:OnGUI() (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\Inspector\InspectorWindow.cs:352)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod:InternalInvoke(Object, Object[], Exception&)
    System.Reflection.MonoMethod:Invoke(Object, BindingFlags, Binder, Object[], CultureInfo) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MonoMethod.cs:222)
    System.Reflection.MethodBase:Invoke(Object, Object[]) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Reflection/MethodBase.cs:115)
    UnityEditor.HostView:Invoke(String, Object) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\HostView.cs:187)
    UnityEditor.HostView:Invoke(String) (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\HostView.cs:180)
    UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI() (at C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\GUI\DockArea.cs:336)

    (Filename: C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Src/SketchUp/Mono/SketchUpImportDlg.cs Line: 94)
     
  3. foszor

    foszor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Still having this issue on 5.3.4p2
     
  4. takatat

    takatat

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Me too.
     
  5. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    2,429
  6. shelshok

    shelshok

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    It's that time again. 2017 is out.
     
  7. tonialatalo

    tonialatalo

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Posts:
    9
  8. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    2,429
    Its done. Its in 2017.3. We have some problems with the issue tracker not syncing with our bug system so it shows active. Its being looked into.
     
    filibis likes this.