Search Unity

  1. Calling all beginners! Join the FPS Beginners Mods Challenge until December 13.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. It's Cyber Week at the Asset Store!
    Dismiss Notice

Skele: Character Animation Tools, Cutscenes and Animations authoring tools

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by TMPxyz, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    hi, The animation(WALK ANIMATION) i bake have root motion, the character is really moving forward ,how do i remove the movement? i'm making animation on legacy
     
  2. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, cjrussel14,

    Just convert the clip from Muscle clip to Legacy , then use it on your Legacy rig model.
    Legacy animation doesn't have RootMotion feature, so the root transform will not move by the animation.
    upload_2015-3-13_23-20-51.png

    If you mean you want the model to stay in-place, then just remove the "hips" position curve.
    See the gif below:

    t27.gif

    Also, don't you consider using Generic instead of Legacy?
    You would be able to utilize Animator and RootMotion with Generic, you could still make it run in-place on generic rig with the same trick here.

    Best regards, Be creative,
     
  3. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    wow!! thanks a lot! it worked :)

    i created a lot of animation without leaving unity! a very useful tool indeed!!!
     
  4. Stiffx

    Stiffx

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Posts:
    454
    This is very useful, could come in handy. Keep it up
     
  5. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, developers,

    Here's another preview of the incoming v1.8 vertex morph animation feature.

    As I showed in the previous posts,
    First, it enables devs to make shape keys with our new Mesh-Deformer in UnityEditor,
    After that, you could use them like blendshape and create vertex animations for runtime.

    Take a look at this simple example GIF of using animation curves to manipulate two shapes to make an animation clip:
    t28.gif
     
    hopeful likes this.
  6. Gua

    Gua

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Posts:
    339
    I've reintegrated latest version of Skele in a project, now there are no errors :)
     
  7. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, Gua,

    That's great to hear that, If you find any issues or suggestions, just tell me. :)

    Best regards,
     
  8. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, developers,

    I've been keeping working on the wireframe to make it more like the blender.
    This is a pic of mushroom with the new wireframe;

    The tris-to-quad conversion still need some more work;

    37.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2015
    red2blue likes this.
  9. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Improved quad wireframe.

    I think it's almost ready for v1.8 update. Just add the loop selection and I'll get to submit it.

    upload_2015-3-17_19-15-39.png
     
    hopeful and OnePxl like this.
  10. OnePxl

    OnePxl

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Posts:
    307
    Unrelated quick question about the DAE export: does it export vertex colours?
     
  11. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Just made a quick check, only export normal and uv.
    If you need vcolor exported, remind me after I updated v1.8 :)
     
  12. OnePxl

    OnePxl

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Posts:
    307
    Ah, so you wrote the exporter yourself? I'd love vertex colour export, I'll remind you! Thank you.
     
  13. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    The collada xml library is from another open-source project, the data is filled by myself.
    Yeah, so if you find any issues on the exporter, remember to tell me.
     
  14. goat

    goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    5,177
    Thanks. I'm off to the asset store to buy. Ciao.
     
    OnePxl likes this.
  15. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, goat,

    Thanks for your support. :)

    Best regards, Be creative,
     
  16. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, developers,

    A preview of loop-selection in work, now I'm making some finishing touch on GUI and debugging,
    I'll submit the v1.8 update when I'm done.

    t29.gif
     
    chelnok likes this.
  17. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    hi, i have another question

    in this video


    how do you make the punches blurry?
     
  18. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, cjrussel14,

    It uses Motion blur, attach it on the camera and there you go. Be noted that it was in the StandardAssets of Unity Pro.

    There're words that Unity5-free has the same capability as Unity5-pro, so maybe such post-effects are available on U5 too. But I've not confirmed that yet.

    Best regards,
     
  19. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Use animation to morph the plane and texture offset to simulate the river.
    It might not be that obvious as the texture offset, can you notice the plane mesh's morphing?

    t30.gif
     
    red2blue and hopeful like this.
  20. inas

    inas

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Posts:
    47
    I confirm that on Unity 5 personal we can use post effect just like Unity 4 pro ;)
     
  21. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    it only blur when the robot punches..do i need to put the image effects the whole time?
     
  22. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    It's easy to put it here all the time, You could enable/disable it in the animation clip or other places,
    You can also tune the strength of blur.
     
  23. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Thanks inas,

    That's a good news :)
     
  24. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    Thank you :)
     
  25. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Here is a vertex-morph test of Unity-chan pouting, quite simple, one shape only.

    t31.gif
     
    twobob likes this.
  26. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    hi,it's me again :D

    what is the name of the function in skele do i need to find to activate it?

    i've made a camera cutscene and i want to call a function to start it somewhere in the scene..

    thanks :)

    and whenever i put a event in animator there is no function ..why?
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2015
  27. LNMRae

    LNMRae

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    41
    Hello, I'm having some issues with Unity 5. When I use Unity 5 and try to edit an FBX animation from the Asset Store, I found it really wants to resist adding animation keys with Skele. No matter what I move, most of the time it doesn't register the change. Using he same model and animation in 4.6 however, it registers the changes just fine.

    It this just a matter of it needing to be updated for Unity 5 or is there something I need to be doing different? Just wondering, I didn't see a lot of comments concerning Skele's compatibility with Unity 5. :)
     
  28. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, LNMRae,

    Thanks for the feedback, :)
    Could you tell me your Unity version? And are you editing a Humanoid clip or non-Humanoid clip?

    If it's a Humanoid clip, you could check this tutorial and see if the problem persists.
    If you found there's problem to add keys to non-humanoid clip, please tell me which model and anim clip you're using so I can check it on Unity5;

    Best regards, Be creative,
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  29. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, cjrussel14,

    You mean the function to start the cutscene? call the CutsceneController.StartCC() method.

    There're several examples scenes in the package you could take a look at, the path is:
    Assets\Skele\CharacterAnimationTools\Res\Extra\Scenes\

    If you didn't see functions in the animation event's function list, check that:
    1. Is CutsceneController component added?
    2. Is the clip on the same GameObject as CutsceneController?

    upload_2015-3-21_10-25-57.png

    See also: the doc and video:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/11EdWprfW6cMEc0jQsiYW4qGy0USOsMZqXTRxrQWGcX8/edit?usp=sharing
     
  30. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    \

    thanks for help,

    i find it quite hard to do a walk/run animation.. :D

    anyway.. how to adjust the pivot of a animated model?
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2015
  31. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Here's a blender tutorial of inplace running animation on Link of Zelda, it's quite simple but might be able to give a rough idea.


    I personally prefer to make the walk/run animation non-inplace to make RootMotion, but it all depends on your project needs. :)

    What're you trying to achieve by moving the pivot?
    You could move the top bone of the skeleton to make that, but it might mess up the existing clips if there's animation_curve on the top bone.

    Best regards,
     
  32. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, developers,

    Here is a GIF of shape-key animation examples,

    Also with skeleton animation and physics.

    t32.gif

    The v1.8 update should be submitted tomorrow :)

    Best regards,
     
    hopeful likes this.
  33. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,960
    So ... with Skele 1.8 you could do cartoon-like bugged out eyes. :)
     
  34. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Yeah, the good part is you could do it right in Unity and don't have to use bones.

    But like blendshape, for performance, you should split the mesh if it has many vertices and you only need to morph a small part, ( you could refer to how Unity-chan's face is assembled )
    If your mesh has only a small number of vert, then it's fine anyway.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015
  35. ZJP

    ZJP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,646
    I have a dream: you are making a tool like Rigify (Blender) for Skele. :p
     
    OnePxl likes this.
  36. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, ZJP,

    Thanks for the feedback, That's an interesting idea :)

    I remember seeing a tutorial video about Rigify, it is used to generate the rig, but the skinning is still auto-weight + manual tweak.
    I think it's still quite an advanced-user-only function.

    Auto-skinning like Mixamo's auto-rig might be more fit for most users.
    But I didn't use it a lot, so I cannot say for sure if its skinning is good in all circumstances.

    It would be helpful if someone who uses it a lot could share some experience about that.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015
  37. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, Developers,

    Skele v1.8.0b1 has just been submitted on AssetStore, it should be online soon if things go smooth. :)

    ======================================
    1.8.0b1 (Submitted on 2015/03/23)
    *NEW*: MeshMorpher, Morph meshes in Unity editor;
    *NEW*: MorphProc, runtime vertex-morphing animation like blendshape;
    ======================================

    The tutorial videos will arrive soon, if you like experimenting yourself, you could have a play in the "PlayGround.unity" scene, press "Ctrl+Alt+M" will bring up the MeshMorpher editor. Clicking the "Shortcut" button will show the control instructions.

    These new features are still in beta, there could be some minor bugs when you use it. If you find any issues, be sure to tell me about that.

    Known Issue: in non-transparent mode, the block-selection has a good chance to leave out some vertices on the right and top.

    Best regards, Be creative
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015
  38. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, developers,

    Here're the two new tutorial videos:
    The first one is the editor tools, the second one is the runtime animations;




    Best regards, Be creative,
     

    Attached Files:

    • 39.jpg
      39.jpg
      File size:
      269.8 KB
      Views:
      8,864
    • 40.jpg
      40.jpg
      File size:
      260.7 KB
      Views:
      10,579
    hopeful and OnePxl like this.
  39. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    when i change the scale of my model through skele ( not on importer ) some part of the model stretched.

     
  40. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, cjrussel14,

    Could you check if the model's bones on the arm have non-uniform scale? (xyz component of scale differ)

    See Also: http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=423030
     
  41. cjrussel14

    cjrussel14

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    69
    yes,i change the scale of the bone in arms to match in the height of the model.. how do i fix it?
     
  42. dibdab

    dibdab

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    wuddi work with floating objects boats and water skis?
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/buoyancy-script.72974/

    where is the river demo scene? are the example scenes included?

    nice work with the mesh morpher, I have an idea where to use it, but it's not gaming ;) yet
    :cool: :eek: o_O:( dramatologics :mad: :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2015
  43. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,960
    This is really a great update, TMPxyz! :)
     
  44. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    As far as I know, you should use uniform scale on the bone, as the child bone will inherit the parent scale.
    The non-uniform scale will cause a math mess (Skew/Stretch/etc)

    If you just want to lengthen the arm, my suggestion is not to SCALE the bone, but MOVE the bone.
    Just drag the joint down a bit, and see if it fits what you need, and uniform-scale it a little if it looks thin.

    About non-uniform scale bone structure, I only heard that UMA makes that with specialized skeleton structure, like the structure said in:
    http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=423030

    If anyone knows better method to utilize non-uniform scale on bones, please be sure to tell me,
    I've been quite interested in that :)

    Best regards, Be creative,
     
  45. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, dibdab,

    No, there's no buoyancy in Skele package , the river scene is only used to show an practical example of the new shape animation :)

    The river is just a flat mesh animated, check the scene:
    Assets\Skele\CharacterAnimationTools\Res\Extra\Scenes\PlayGround.unity

    it takes only 2 minutes to make that, I will make another tutorial video for it.

     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2015
  46. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Thanks for the support ! :)
     
  47. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    Hi, developers,

    The 3-minute tutorial of making an animated river with Skele Mesh-Morpher:



    Best regards, Be creative,
     
    red2blue, OnePxl and chelnok like this.
  48. dibdab

    dibdab

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    thanks! wasn't able to find it. I'll check that and also how it reacts to that buoyancy script.
     
  49. TMPxyz

    TMPxyz

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Posts:
    765
    That's not a very big mesh, but it's just there with all other gameObjects and should be easy to find,

    But, no matter what, you can check the 3-min tutorial in #447 and make it yourself :)
     
  50. BlankMauser

    BlankMauser

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    104
    Do all rigs have IK support? Or will that be something that will need to be set up in a 3D program?