Search Unity

Skating on Ice

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by MitchStan, Mar 24, 2007.

1. MitchStan

MitchStan

I've been looking around the forum and the wiki site and have experimented with some scripting examples to mimic a player skating on ice, but so far my efforts have produced more of a slipping and sliding effect., especially when rotating to turn.

Can anyone point me to a script that they know of, or throw me a suggestion or code fragmnt that I can play with that will help me achieve some sort of skatng on ice feel?

I'm not a total noob to programming, but noob enough to be humbled by what you guys can do so easily.

Thanks for any help, guys.

Mitch

2. MitchStan

MitchStan

Here is some code I'm playing with - I've set the physic material of the playing surface to ice and the physic material of the GO as metal.

The targetPosition is set in the inspector - I use LookRotation and lerp to get the GO turning and the AddRelativeForce in the forward direction to get the GO moving.

Any thoughts about how I can use the friction setting to reduce the sideways slip?

// Pick a xz position in the inspector:
    var targetPosition = Vector3.zero;

var smooth = .5;
    var force = 2;

function FixedUpdate() {

var targetRotation = targetPosition - rigidbody.position;

var rotation = Quaternion.LookRotation(targetRotation);

rigidbody.rotation = Quaternion.Lerp (rigidbody.rotation, rotation,Time.deltaTime * smooth);

rigidbody.AddRelativeForce(Vector3.forward*force);

}

3. jeffcraighead

jeffcraighead