Search Unity

Question Singleplayer campaign game

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by picklefart68, Feb 9, 2021.

1. picklefart68

picklefart68

hello,
    I am new to unity and I want to make a singleplayer campaign game, I cannot find anything on this on the internet (maybe im blind?). I want to make a game with a campaign style like COD (obviously not that complicated, and it will most likely be in low poly style if i can figure that out.) Its not an RPG game, I just want to make a singleplayer campaign. feel free to ask about clarification on my ideas if anything doesnt make sense, any help is appreciated, thank you.

2. Stoicheia

Stoicheia

Do you have any programming or 3D modelling experience? If not, you should put off your game idea until after you have some fundamentals under your belt. If you plan on being a solo developer, you would also need to learn a bunch of other skills which you may not even know are necessary (animation, SFX, UI design, marketing etc.)

The best way forward is to dedicate 1-3 years of your life to learning C#/Unity, either through personal projects, game jams, school, whatever. Then team up with some people to fill in your missing skills.

For practical advice, the order of what you learn should roughly look like: Basic scripting -> Physics/Linear algebra -> Algorithms/Data structures -> Object oriented programming -> 3D modelling (if you have time). Obviously you can work on projects of varying complexity levels at any stage, but as a complete beginner, making a relatively complex game would be unrealistic. Maybe start with tennis or something idk.

Don't give up!

3. picklefart68

picklefart68

I have already dowloaded blender, and I know some basic 3D modeling skills, and I just started a class in school which should incorporate some 3D modeling, digital design skills, and other stuff.

I Used to do a little bit of python but it was a while ago so I probably don't remember it...