Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Single or Multi-Meshed Models

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by RoryNi, May 26, 2015.

1. RoryNi

RoryNi

Hello,

I am a beginner to Unity - so must ask this question (using Blender for the models).
    When developing the 3D models that I aim to put in my game, should they be single mesh or comprised of multiple objects?
    For example, developing a model of a castle, should that be made of one entire object (mesh), or be comprised of multiple objects (such as an object for each wall, an object for each tower etc.)?

Is there any reason why using a single mesh would be more advantageous than multiple objects in one model, or vice versa?

Thanks,
    roza330

2. OlavoDias

OlavoDias

I'd say sometimes it's impossible to do everything into a single mesh. It gets hard to put textures later if you have big meshes.

I usually create all my meshes and export individually to Unity, then in Unity I group everything underneath a game object.

One example: I had a racing car draw in 3DS Max... for the front wing, rear wing, tires., I had all in separated meshes...
    It was useful when I needed to show a "broken" front wing, and I needed to do was to deactivate my normal front wing mesh and activate the broken front wing mesh.

On your castle, you might want the doors to open.. it's kinda hard to do a door opening animation if you don't have the doors in a separated mesh... IMHO.

3. kburkhart84

kburkhart84