Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Simplygon Login

Discussion in 'External Tools' started by LightingBox2, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Hi all

    For those who have this problem :

    1. You must have Windows 10 (important)

    2. Go to account.simplygon.com and create a new free account with an free license

    3. Now download Simplygon SDK and Unity package

    4. Install Simplygon SDK and enter your license code :
    photo_2017-10-02_22-06-13.jpg

    5. Now import unity package and enter "user" as user name and password in "Grid" server

    Simplygon is the best tool for optimizing your models
    After Simplygon , Mantis LOD is the best choice (Simplygon is more complete and has more features even for Skinned mesh)

    Note: i don't have Win10 and didn't tested LOD generation currently (successfully logined but given me error to install win 10 during optimization)


     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2018
    nirvanajie and Archviz3d like this.
  2. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    321.000 tri => 700 tri
    Automatically bake details (Normal map, textures and AO) into the model
    Untitled.jpg
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  3. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Normal mode :
    photo_2017-10-04_07-00-33.jpg

    Proxy mode :
    photo_2017-10-04_07-00-37.jpg
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  4. Archviz3d

    Archviz3d

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Posts:
    83
    What happened to simplygon? i know they were acquiered by microsoft! after that they just deleted their asset from the asset store of unity, and there's no tutorials for unity anymore in their youtube. And the last plugin is for unity 5.5 ?? They are not going to provide support anymore to unity?
     
  5. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Download link (updated version with full features for free) is available in the simplygon dashboard after creating an license(free)
     
  6. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    23,014
    Would prefer Unity build it in as a native feature because I'm an entitled old man.
     
  7. Archviz3d

    Archviz3d

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Posts:
    83
    Yeah i know :) ive been using it for the last year! But i felt that since the acquisition from microsoft that unity has been put aside ... since theres still tutorials of unreal in their youtube account but the ones from unity have been deleted aswell as the plugin in the asset store (although as you said we can still download it in their webpage)...hope this continue to work in the future because its definitly the best out there...its like magic :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017
  8. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    New version is a lot better for unity than old free version (has more options and fixed lots of bugs )
    you can find videos in my youtube channel
     
  9. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Sorry Aliyeredon2, will you help me to understand this? new version better than the old free?
    I made an account there a week ago and got my key with the download links. Btw, i also don't have Windows10. The SDK seems to contain the standalone software. I didn't try to install it, so i can only guess and the unity plugin seems to be outdated! For more clarity please xD... which new & old free version are you talking about? xD Also, when or why not free?) When do we need to pay? Isn't simplygon free for commercial use on one machine? On their page we have two choices: Free or pay 25k offline version (means no control?). I tried to find the license model on the page, without success. I am sure that others will agree with me when I say that several not quite see through here. I read everywhere that no one knows what's really going on there. Maybe you can help me/us out to fully understand how we can use simplygon today, especially with the latest unity 2017 version?
     
  10. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    To make it simple:

    • Am I allowed to use simplygon for commercial use with a free license, aslong I only use one pc for computing the stuff?
    • Do you mean with "the new" version the standalone version that seems to be inside the SDK?
    • Archviz3d is asking you about the future support of the outdated unity 5.x plugin, but you are answering by mentioning an updated version, which doesn't exist in the download section, as Archviz3d and I made the experience on their site (week ago)

    Don't get me wrong, but till now the topic simplygon was very shaky everywhere!
     
  11. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    You must use Win 10 and You must install standalone to login with your license key (free or paid)

    You can use Simplygon commercially (read license page)

    New version has more options and features without old limitations on free mode(Baking AO,Normal ...)

    You must create a free license in your Simplygon Dashboard to get access to download link
     
  12. Mauri

    Mauri

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,184
    Does it run on Windows 7? On Simplygon's website it says "Runs on Windows 10" on the Free plan and "Runs on Windows 8 & 10" on the Paid plan. Just another case of "Microsoft tries to force end users to Windows 10"?
     
  13. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Only 10 for free
    8 for paid (too expensive)
     
  14. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    But which "new vesion" ? The standalone which is in den SDK? Do you mean this by "new"?

    Cause the unity plugin goes only up to unity 5.x version. But we have Unity 2017 now! What about the plugin? There is no new plugin for Unity-2017 version! ....????
     
  15. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Unity 2017 = Unity 5 that is released in 2017

    Also you can run unity 2 project in 2017 without problem (tested before from u1 to u5)
     
  16. sirrus

    sirrus

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Posts:
    250
    The Simplygon window in Unity is asking for a username/password but the Microsoft credentials used to create the account don't work. And the link to "sign up" (simplygon.com/games) is no longer valid.

    What credentials are we supposed to use for the Unity plugin then?
     
  17. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Select Grid
    Press login
    Wait for login

    You must enter your license code from Symplygon's menu ( right-down corner of the windows)
     
    sirrus likes this.
  18. sirrus

    sirrus

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Posts:
    250
    Bingo, thanks!
     
  19. LockedInside

    LockedInside

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Hi !
    I followed the tutorial and all links are available, except the one for the unitypackage, anyone knows how I can get it ?

    Thanks !
     
  20. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    I think it's removed from developer pages:
     

    Attached Files:

    Penoso, andrew_2992 and zeb33 like this.
  21. LockedInside

    LockedInside

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Woua, many thanks !
     
  22. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,924
    how do I get this to run? simpligon sdk is installed, the simplygon UI is working fine and decimating ok with the agent up and running
    i pressed grid which set user and pass to "user", when i press log in is goes "please wait" and after a while returns this "invalid" error message
     
  23. LockedInside

    LockedInside

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Did you entered your licence informations in the Licence Application ?
     
  24. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,924
    yes, good news is, after a few restarts it somehow works now
     
  25. GameDevCouple_I

    GameDevCouple_I

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    880
    Where is the official unity package? Why is there no news on what is happening with Unity < > Simplygon?
     
    Mr-Mechanical and laurentlavigne like this.
  26. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,924
    you'll need to contact the simplygon folks for an answer
     
  27. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
  28. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,924
    have you tied AutoLod with this? It's a bit cleaner and make auto LOD groups but it's got quirks
     
  29. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    What is the Auto LOD?
     
  30. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,924
    LightingBox2 likes this.
  31. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    I mean what's the plan now with the plugin support? The Unity plugin has been removed from the simplygon download page. What means that now? No support anymore? Do i have to deal with an old version until it gets useless and forgotten? Simplygon is a industry standard! Every Triple-A game is using it. What the "hack"!
     
  32. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Current version is the latest one with all supported features
     
  33. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    And which one is the latest Unity patch release with which it works?
    cause the Unity_2017.3.1p4 console says after installing the plugin: "Simplygon.dll uses obsolete Unity API (UnityUpgradable)"
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  34. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    Worked on 2018.1
     
  35. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Thanks for info. It seems to work now. (somehow the firewall was blocking it)

    I still have 3 issues! :(


    LICENSE APPLICATION?
    But where the hack is the license application of simplygon? Can't find any application where i can put my serial in it!

    LOGIN CHANGED?
    Also, you said, that we have to use the standalone application using "user" and "grid" as login data. The official FAQ says, that the default login data is "user/user" and not "user/grid". Take a look at the faq. > https://account.simplygon.com/#faq

    SIMPLYGON LIB?
    After installing the SDK, windows10 tells me:
    "Simplygon Grid Agent UI:
    No Preferred Simplygon Lib! The Agent has no Simplygon Lib. Use Admin Utility to upload and set a preferred Simplygon Lib."


    Big thanks for all the effort!!!!
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2018
  36. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
    1. Download and install Simplygon SDK 8
    2. Enter your license
    3. Use grid network and press login
     
  37. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    But, where do i enter the license?
     
  38. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,683
  39. SOIL

    SOIL

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    98
    Thanks, got it running! I just went by the written stuff here. xD
     
  40. ktitov3d

    ktitov3d

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    Hi!

    I just checked simplygon optimization and geometry looks pretty good after it.
    I find out one issue with it. When my mesh has multiple materials it will batch all geometry independently of materials.

    Did anyone have this problem?
     
  41. ktitov3d

    ktitov3d

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    Does anyone have Unity plugin for .net 4.6? The one above works only on 3.5 and if i switch to 4.6 it gives me error: "invalid email and password".
    laurentlavigne had this problem i think.
     
  42. GameDevCouple_I

    GameDevCouple_I

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    880
    same, really need simplygon to be working so I can implement the AutoLOD system!
     
  43. lalaphoon

    lalaphoon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Does Simplygon work on Mac now? And also I'm on Unity 2018.1 trying Simplygon 5.3 version now, seems it keeps saying that I'm using the invalid email or password.