Search Unity

Simple square movement and a more complex question

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by theodor1289, Feb 8, 2016.

1. theodor1289

theodor1289

Hi there, guys ! I am quite new to object oriented programming and I was wondering if you could help me out with some kind of advice. Yes, I know I can find a lot of resources such and tutorials and books related to this and no, I am not telling you to build me exactly what I am asking, for I have proven below that I'm not a lazy person, who asks for efficient solutions, by providing my own, most probably inefficient ones. What I'm asking is that you merely provide an idea/ maybe some C# code related to what I'm about to ask. Good, now that we got that out of the way, let us begin.

I am accustomed to C++ procedural oriented programming ( I have not finished high school yet, but I do understand basic techniques such as backtracking, graph theory and its applications - Breadth First Search, Depth First Search etc., Divide et Impera etc. and how to dynamically allocate and use memory - though I heard C# doesn't have this ) and therefore what I'm asking seems painfully hard for me to implement and probably is shockingly easy for you guys.

So let me finally get to the point:

Firstly, I'm trying to make a 10x10 red square move on the screen ( or Game Screen, unity's way of showing me what the player sees ) in the - let's say - following way:

Yes, that's about it. I have made the square in Photoshop ( simple ) and I can imagine quite some possible solutions, such as setting point destinations like in this video:

but I hardly believe they are optimal. I am interested in the optimal way of solving the problem.

Secondly, I am looking for a way of changing the square's color every - let's say - three seconds. My procedural logic strikes again and makes me think about the following solution: