Search Unity

Simple question about graphic/ sprite design

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Davdoc, Apr 6, 2015.

1. Davdoc

Davdoc

Hello everyone, I've been experimenting with Unity for a little while now, however I've been self-teaching myself game programming/ design for a few years. Nothing crazy, but a hobby that has come and gone. I'm older now, and I am taking it more seriously. I thought I'd include this little intro since I'm new to the forums.

Anyways...I've always been pretty good at drawing, and okay at computer graphics, but never really taught myself any professional techniques or anything like that. I was wondering what graphical perspective a game like Pokemon Ruby / Sapphire is, if that's the right wording...? I'm interested in learning top-down graphics like games like these, but when I search for top-down graphics and tutorials, I literally get like flat, top down perspective...Like staring down at the top of a head, like a drawing plan... I like how Pokemon has the slight angle to show more detail...what is that called exactly?

Here's a like to an IGN blog which shows all the Pokemon graphical styles from the beginning to present, in-case you're not sure exactly what I mean:
    http://www.ign.com/blogs/hardcore_hector/2013/01/19/pokemon-graphics-past-present-and-future

2. rogueknight

rogueknight

The style your looking for is called isometric or orthographic. It gives the appearance of looking at the world from an angle instead of straight down. However it is harder to make than normal top down graphics.

P.S. Welcome to the forums!

NomadKing likes this.
  3. Davdoc

Davdoc