Search Unity

Discussion Simple DOTS Animation System

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Bendzae, Dec 18, 2022.

1. Bendzae

Bendzae

Hello everyone,

I am working on a simple animation package for dots until the official one is there. I got it working kinda well for up to a 1000 animated characters at once but I am sure there are a lot of performance improvements I am missing. It would be incredibly helpful if someone would take the time to do some code review for the package as I am not that experienced with the dots stack yet.

I plan to implement animation blending next. Suggestions or PR's are super welcome.

https://github.com/Bendzae/unity-dots-animation

Instructions for usage and samples can be found in the readme :)

Tony_Max, apkdev, Occuros and 3 others like this.
  2. DreamingImLatios

DreamingImLatios

Hi,

I'm the author of Kinemation, and have quite a bit of experience in this domain and the DOTS stack in general.

Unfortunately, your repo is licensed under GPL, so I can't really look at it too closely to give any meaningful feedback. But if you have any questions, please ask!

One thing I would suggest is elaborating more on your desired use cases and workflows, as well as any areas you wish to improve.

3. thelebaron

thelebaron

why does a gpl license prevent you from meaningful feedback?

4. TheOtherMonarch

TheOtherMonarch

Because the GPL is cancer.

5. thelebaron

thelebaron

Quickly tested things out but it worked well after I made some modifications, namely upgrade to transform v2.

I'm still getting used to the new transform system myself but essentially LocalTransform replaces both translation and rotation(so LocalTransform.Position = translation.Value etc), and WorldToLocal is math.inverse of LocalToWorld.Value

Also a simple system as for whatever reason the graphics entities are rotated wrong by unity's internal baking after switching to transform v2? An assembly reference to the Entities.Graphics is also required as