Search Unity

Should you build your game when you don't have the artwork?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Fcaldas, Jul 6, 2015.

1. Fcaldas

Fcaldas

Hey guys,

So here's the dilemma. I have an idea and can start building my game today.

But I have not yet found a freelancer to create the artwork and assets for me.

I was thinking on starting the game using simple shapes (cubes, planes, squares) and then later on apply the materials and/or replace for the proper prefabs.

Do you think this is a good way of approaching the problem?

What should I have in mind while devoloping using simple elements so that later on I can have a smooth(er) transition?

Thanks!

2. Arcatus

Arcatus

Good thread.

I am also new to unity and are only using free assets and simple shapes. I have found that as soon as I start using a proper model I get distracted by texture, lighting, materials, etc, etc. At some point I need to tackle those things but at the moment I have found that I am a much more effective coder when I keep the graphics at a minimum.

But good advice for a smooth transition later on would be usefull.

GarBenjamin likes this.
  3. TheAlmightyPixel

TheAlmightyPixel

I'd advice using just the regular 3D gameobjects (cubes, cylinders, spheres etc.) that Unity allows you to create as placeholders, and when the time is right, replace the meshes and possibly the colliders with the final art.

jchester07, hopeful and Alexarah like this.
  4. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

We were just discussing this somewhere else. I wouldn't mind a dedicated thread to make a good discussion of it. @ShadowK and @Tomnnn both had some good opinions.

I for one don't throw in any art till near the end. I use primitives and place holder models. Anything else tends to distract from getting the core gameplay elements right.

hopeful, Alexarah and GarBenjamin like this.
  5. schmosef

schmosef

This is a good idea.

You can supplement the built-in 3D primitives with free ones from the asset store.