Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Should I Use Entities or Other Means For Memory Management?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Filter_Feeder, Jul 13, 2021.

1. Filter_Feeder

Filter_Feeder

I'm working on a voxel-based geo-simulation projectwhere I am trying to create a huge world with dynamic geological processes like erosion, tectonic movements etc. I have used the ECS system to create the most basic fundamental calculations already (runs fast as hell on smaller worlds), but testing with a grid of 20^3 voxels, up to 6GB of memory is already being used by the system.

To clarify, every voxel in the world is an entity.

My question - and I'm sorry if this seems lazy for me to simly ask and not do the research on myself, but I'm not a computer engineer but just a simple hobbyist - is if ECS is really the path to take in such a project. As my project revolves around geological simulation, it really doesn't need to be very fast (I'm not going to do real-time waves or fast moving stuff like "from dust"). It needs however to be huge, ginormous in fact, and I'm guessing there are systems out there for better handling of large datasets.

The voxels themselves don't have to be very heavy on memory. They basically just contain a dussin of floating-point values, which could be reduced down to int16 or even 8-bit values. Regardless, I'm guessing it's going to be big enough that I will probably have to stream data back-and-forth to disc and not actually have everything loaded up on the memory.

I would be very helpful if someone more exeperienced could comment on this, and possbly give me some pointers as to where to start digging for more information. Thanks!

2. tertle

tertle

> To clarify, every voxel in the world is an entity.