Search Unity

Should I use DOTS?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by rosenjcb, Nov 16, 2020.

1. rosenjcb

rosenjcb

So I'm sure you've seen dozens of these threads before, but I don't know where to start so please forgive me!

I'm a software engineer by trade but I don't write too many games. After hearing a talk by Mike Acton, I felt inspired to go the ECS route and just try making a game. So I picked up a port of Raylib for Rust, an ECS framework (Specs) and started pounding away. At first, there was a lot of friction in getting something working but once I had a fully implemented ECS system and saw how easy it was to arbitrarily create new entities just by referencing the components that make it up and having all the logic working as intended in my systems with no extra effort. Really, I couldn't care too much about the performance and it was just a nice have. The meat and bones of ECS to me is the architecture itself - it just works.

Now that's all good and fun but Raylib as a game library lacks a lot of necessary tooling that is needed to make anything professional in a reasonable amount of time. I remembered Unity and so I picked it up. As I went through some of the tutorials, I noticed something: DOTS is preview and the experience you get with DOTS is kind of gimped when compared to MonoBehavior. For example, you can't even look at DOTS components in the object hierarchy of the editor. You can only look at them through the entity window. I've seen some people attach the components themselves to game objects (is this a Hybrid system???) but I'm sure that's not the only oddity there is with using DOTS vs MonoBehavior.