Search Unity

Should a beginner game developer use the asset store?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by ima_lobster, Mar 1, 2018.

1. ima_lobster

ima_lobster

Hi guys,

This is my first post on the forums so I hope my question is in the right category. I have spent the past year one and off teaching myself C# for developing games and have decided to FINALLY start a project (pretty common story here I am sure). A big selling point for Unity is the asset store, which as I have heard can really speed up projects so you aren’t recreating the wheel.

As a beginner, I would like to know if I should be using assets or trying to create my own? I have seen a couple of threads or articles discussing the ‘Must-Have Assets for Beginners’, and thought that if started using these I would lose a lot of fundamental knowledge and experience that comes with creating your own stuff.

What do you guys think? I would love to hear opinions from both other beginners and advanced users :)

2. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

It depends.

In general, if there's a need that the asset store fits very well and it's something you don't want to bother with, then sure, get it from the asset store.

But to know what kind of needs you have, you should start making something. So personally, I'd suggest against buying stuff from the asset store before you've started making something.

Ryiah and Kiwasi like this.
  3. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

I pretty much agree with @AcidArrow. I don't believe there are any "must-have" assets, with the exception of Script Inspector 3, without which you can't edit your code within Unity. That's definitely a must-have for me. But it's an editor asset; it basically fixes a shortcoming in Unity, and it's not code you would ever need to look at or need to know how to do yourself. So you're not losing anything by getting it (except a lot of frustration, and all that free time you used to have while waiting for MonoDevelop or Visual Studio to launch).