Search Unity

short film in preparation

Discussion in 'Virtual Production' started by musicolart, Oct 25, 2021.

1. musicolart

musicolart

Hello everyone, I am new to the Unity site. I would like to have some criticism on a short film in preparation. "Lydia's Quest".
    I wish you a good day.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2022
    DevKS and GeniusKoala like this.
  2. akent99

akent99

All up good job! I mean its not Toy Story quality - that would require a HUGELY greater investment. So my comments are within the constraints of the tool. Also, not understanding the language makes it harder to provide meaningful comments on script and pacing sorry!

The opening page of text scrolling up - I would see if you can reduce the length. Its a lot of text to read to get into it.

I got that there was a desert scene with the hot sun, but then shortly afterwards riding down a river - not understanding the voice track I was left wondering why.

All up the animation was pretty good! One that gave me pause was the eagle catching the snake. Was the eagle landing and capturing the snake and flying off? Or did it catch the snake as it swooped past? That part was the least clear to me (the take off transition). It was not bad, it just felt more rough than the rest (to me!!). I liked having the snake - it made it interesting - more variety, and it reinforced the "hot desert" feel.

I assume you know of the "rule of thirds"? Things "look good" lined up on 1/3 and 2/3 lines. You have things offset a lot (which looks good), and often have the head room in front of the character (which is good). Sometimes the character gets a bit close to the edge of the screen or a little close to the top and this can feel a little crowded. But overall I think pretty good (minor thing for you to review yourself). E.g. 3:33 I thought the camera was going to keep moving so the character disappeared out of shot, but the camera stopped with your character right on the edge.