Search Unity

Sharing texture data between kernels in compute shader does not work in Linux?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Deleted User, Apr 6, 2021.

1. Deleted User

Deleted User

Hi, I'm new to compute shaders (and also to this forum, apologies if this is in the wrong place, or if I've jumped the gun in this or any other aspect).

I have been trying to get the following project to run on my computer all day:
    https://github.com/SebLague/Slime-Simulation
    as I wanted to play around with it but it has been a nightmarish experience. In retrospect, I should have accepted earlier than no fixes aught to have been required of me as it would be unlikely that the github contained a non-functional project, but here we are, I've been trying to tweak that code to make it work or to generally debug all day.

This as, well as the more minimal example I will include below, do not work on my PopOS 20.10 with NVIDIA Driver Version: 460.67 and CUDA Version: 11.2, either in the editor or compiled. I have also tried windows as a target, this does not work in wine, but it runs just fine if I boot into native windows 10.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using UnityEngine.Experimental.Rendering;
    6. public class Main : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     RenderTexture tex1 , tex2;
    9.     public ComputeShader shader;
    11.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    12.     void Start()
    13.     {
    14.         tex1 = new RenderTexture(80, 80, 1, GraphicsFormat.R8G8B8A8_UNorm);
    15.         tex2 = new RenderTexture(80, 80, 1, GraphicsFormat.R8G8B8A8_UNorm);
    17.         tex1.enableRandomWrite=true;
    18.         tex2.enableRandomWrite=true;
    20.     tex1.Create();
    21.     tex2.Create();
    23.         transform.Find("Quad").GetComponentInChildren<MeshRenderer>().material.mainTexture = tex1;