Search Unity

Sharing project with contractor

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FiveFingerStudios, Jul 6, 2018.

1. FiveFingerStudios

FiveFingerStudios

I have been working on my VR game for the past two years, and I'm a programmer by trade but need to contract an outside programmer for additional work. I'm curious to know if it is standard practice to share entire or partial projects with contractors who need it for their work tasks? I will have an NDA for this contractor, but I'm not going to lie...it makes me feel really uneasy, this is so much code, assets, and just all of my work!

Any advice is much appreciated, thanks!

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

It depends on the type of work they will be doing. If for example they were to design a complex but isolated system, they may be able to develop it without any of your code, just like building any system that you'd throw up on the asset store.

Kiwasi likes this.
  3. neginfinity

neginfinity

The best idea is most likely to share as little as possible. Meaning isolate and remove anything not related to their task at hand.

Kiwasi likes this.
  4. JohnnyA

JohnnyA

Its absolutely standard practice to share entire projects. There are some specific cases as described by @Joe-Censored but this is the exception not the rule.

If you are worried someone will take your work and publish it then hire someone else. Factors to protected against this in rough order of best to worst:

1. Hire someone you know well
    2. Hire someone who is well known publicly
    3. Hire someone who comes recommended form people you know well
    4. Hire someone who will work in your office on your equipment
    5. Hire someone who will work in your office
    6. Hire someone who works locally so you can easily and frequently meet in person

If you must hire a remote contractor, do lost of research, get recommendations from verifiable sources, etc, and try to hire someone in your country.

GetBrinxed and Kiwasi like this.