Search Unity

Shared Component Entity Query in Jobs

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by charleshendry, Aug 16, 2019.

1. charleshendry

charleshendry

Hi,

I'm new to ECS and struggling to write my first system. I've seen posts about similar setups, but can't work it out.

I want to have a system that responds to UI toggles being activated. The toggles should cause the entities color to change, depending on the data in their ObjectOverlayComponent.

The UI code is a MonoBehaviour and a toggle click creates a single entity with an ObjectOverlayClickedComponent. The system should only run when this component exists and there will only ever be a single entity with this component (the system destroys the entity after processing).

There's a list of enums in the component, representing different filters and also a value which will be used to further filter the entities in some cases, which can be done with EntityQuery.SetFilter(). From the documentation I understand that the query should be passed into the Schedule() method. Ideally I then access all matching entities and edit the RenderMesh component material in each of them. I'm planning on having the ObjectOverlayComponents as children to the entity with the RenderMesh component because this should give much better chunk utilization (as there'll be a range of different meshes that should get the same color).

Here's what I have for starters, but it's incomplete and I know some of it'll be incorrect. Any advice much appreciated!

Code (CSharp):
    1. public struct ObjectOverlayClickedComponent : IComponentData
    2. {
    3.     public OverlayType OverlayType;
    4.     public byte Value;
    5. }
    7. public struct ObjectOverlayComponent : ISharedComponentData
    8. {
    9.     public OverlayType OverlayType;
    10.     public byte Value;
    11. }
    13. public enum OverlayType
    14. {
    15.     SelectablePatrol,
    16.     SelectableExplore,
    17.     SelectableBomb,