Search Unity

Feedback Share your Unity Hub 3.0 Beta Feedback Here

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by Gennady, Jun 23, 2021.

  1. timlea50

    timlea50

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I'll be honest here - I was so looking forward to trying out unity and I have had nothing but disappointment with the whole installation process. I have seen various forums highlighting the same issue. I have downloaded and run the hub program to download the editor install - and I just get "in progress" with the download and just nothing. I have re-booted three times, have even tried downloading beta version and it just hangs in the download. I have tried for nearly 3 days - suffice to say I am extremely disappointed and my excitement has deeply waned. The final message that came back was install failed validation failed. I am trying to remain positive and it anyone can shed any light I would be very grateful (windows 10) In the interim, I will try one final time and will just give up and explore other options.
     
  2. punk

    punk

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    392
    Don't use the 3.0 Beta hub, use the 2.4.4 one the Beta seems bust, I would also use the 2020 LTS version of unity, its more stable - Good Luck
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2021
  3. Corodius

    Corodius

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    An offline mode would be nice. Being unable to even open a single project, or even use the hub, after I had validated my license online just because I lost internet connection for a couple of days, would have been a major hold up and caused me to miss a few days if I didn't happen to have an old 2.4.2 appimage.

    I honestly did not expect this, considering it always worked fine in 2.4 and earlier.

    (Linux - Ubuntu 20.04 platform)
     
  4. Tony_Max

    Tony_Max

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Posts:
    171
    Once I have switched back to release channel i cant switch back to beta
     
  5. Briter

    Briter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    upload_2021-7-19_10-16-41.png
    Anyway to fix this? I try restart my PC and client already but it's still not changing to dark mode.
    P.S. I had uninstall Unity 2.X and 3.X (Something but surely BETA) previously, and now idk how to get back to BETA channel again. Switching channel also doesn't help.
     
    khalid_BLI likes this.
  6. NoMossStudios

    NoMossStudios

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    using 3.0.0-beta.1 - it feels like a significant regression that we can no longer install specific unity versions as needed for a project (old workflow would be clone a project, add to the hub, if I didn't have that version of unity installed I could easily do so from the hub)
     
    Ruchir likes this.
  7. paruthi-exe

    paruthi-exe

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    Unable to take android build... showing OpenJDK option as installed already..
    1 but it is not installed
    2 Unable to uncheck or install

    Now a days unity throws in products, with quality level less than college final year project.. this is very much pre-alpha they have all new features, but a lot of having issues.. it is understandable if there is a deep bugs.. more of simple bugs like checkbox errors etc.. how come this cleared testing phase ? very much disappointed


    upload_2021-7-19_14-43-49.png
     
    NumberValley likes this.
  8. paruthi-exe

    paruthi-exe

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    Yep..suggesting the same.. Don't use the 3.0 Beta hub
     
    nehvaleem and punk like this.
  9. SuperSpasm

    SuperSpasm

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Posts:
    8
    Licenses have issues. I need to refresh license sometimes or editor fails (mostly collab)
    Latest issue was collab showing "No internet connection" and removing project ID until I refreshed license (free, not expired) in Hub.
     
  10. Sundiray

    Sundiray

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    I got the Hub to turn into a black screen and had to restart after clicking "choose a different version". Steps:
    "Open" -> choose an old project made in an editor version not currently installed -> clicked "choose different version"

    Not sure if relevant but the project was on a different drive.
     
    SirRudey likes this.
  11. Carwashh

    Carwashh

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2012
    Posts:
    663
    Using the icon in the systray -> right mouse click -> select any project -> nothing happens.
     
    Re0cto and RunninglVlan like this.
  12. davidsamacoits

    davidsamacoits

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Posts:
    13
    Thank you all for your valuable feedback. We temporarily disabled access to v3.0-Beta due to server-side performance issues, so you might be unable to install it. You can continue use the beta if you have it already.

    Please note if you revert back to v2.4.4, you won't be able to re-install v3 again until we re-enable the beta later this week with a new patch.

    Thanks for your understanding.
     
    konsnos and FabioMen10 like this.
  13. SirRudey

    SirRudey

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Got the same issue
     
  14. SerAlbi_Touchwindow

    SerAlbi_Touchwindow

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue here...
     
  15. Anotheryeti

    Anotheryeti

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    10
    Big issue:
    Headless installs of Unity versions don't work at all with new hub. Just hangs.
     
  16. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,227
    I do stress that my biggest PAIN on the Hub 2.x remembering the previous project folder is coming from "Add Project" functionality overriding the default project location. I typically use this to try some git repo's samples from Unity etc (which I don't store among my normal folders). Unity often puts the actual projects in git repo's subfolders which causes then my next new project made with Hub to often go inside these unrelated git repos (as it's easy to miss the default project folder changed).

    So.. is anything else is not going to happen with the old functionality, at least override the default projects folder only if the folder changes when user creates new project and never when user adds some project from random location (there's zero reasons for it to do this, I don't get why it is like that at all in 2.x)
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2021
    hessel_mm likes this.
  17. Lupsoris

    Lupsoris

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Hello everyone! :)

    I used to have Unity Hub 3.0, but due to an problem on my part, I had to reinstall the Unity Hub, and I went back to version 2.4.4, which is normal.
    The problem now is that even having set the Production to Beta, even after restarting the Hub, even after waiting a day, restarting my PC, etc.
    I don't get any notifications to install the 3.0 beta.

    Someone have a solution?

    Thank you,
    Lupsoris
     
  18. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    5,618
    They pulled 3.0 for now due to problems, so it won't be available until the next patch. It's like 4 posts up.
     
  19. Lupsoris

    Lupsoris

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    With someone who has downloaded it, it's not possible to share the .exe in the temporary files? :oops:
    I would love to go back to Hub 3.0 and with the bit I did on it, I had no problems... and don't really want to wait a month for a patch. :(
     
  20. davidsamacoits

    davidsamacoits

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Posts:
    13
    Actually, we just released a new beta for v3.0.0 and you should now be able to upgrade as we reactivated beta for everyone ;)

    More information on the fixes here.

    Screen Shot 2021-07-22 at 1.31.01 PM.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2021
  21. Lupsoris

    Lupsoris

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Still no updates..? What can I do..? (Sorry if I'm annoying with that :oops:)

    upload_2021-7-22_19-28-30.png
     
  22. davidsamacoits

    davidsamacoits

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Posts:
    13
    Restarting your Hub might help to force the update, otherwise it's just a matter of being patient as it can take a little bit to show up (we literally just released it)
     
  23. Lupsoris

    Lupsoris

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    Okay, thanks. I hope it will be quick ^^
    Could going from Production to Beta again help? Or will it slow down the process?
     
  24. 8r3nd4n

    8r3nd4n

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Posts:
    29
    This has infuriated me for the last few weeks until I just now found that HUB was the culprit. Have reverted and 2.4 and not as many loading panels (though still way too many of late IMO)
     
    brunocoimbra and Schneider_RDS like this.
  25. Corodius

    Corodius

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    I did not see this in the fixes, so wanted to make sure - Is it now possible in 3.0.0 to use the Hub offline after license activation? As is available in 2.x.x
     
  26. monkeyhead259

    monkeyhead259

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    When I got the popup yesterday to upgrade to 3.0 I instantly said yes to it, but so far nothing has happened. No download, no extra popup for it to install the beta while I have the beta chanel selected. I even completely restarted my hub I even reinstalled it, but nothing. If anyone could help me out here that be awsome.
     

    Attached Files:

  27. Jean-Fabre

    Jean-Fabre

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    403
    Hi,

    I can't find a way to have a white version of the hub, I hope this is planned, I can not look at a mainly black screen, my eyes hurts because of the contrasts.

    2021, and still no icons for each projects, Unity Cloud just got them few days ago... maybe you could pull out from the project the icon behing used and show it in the list.

    same if the project is using a code repository

    basically, I see no improvement in productivness, which is worrying. Only cosmetics... what about:

    -- ability to organize projects by arbitrary groups
    -- rep pointer, branch, etc.
    -- which rendering type, standar, urp, hdrp, etc
    -- ability to see organization owners of projects
    -- ability to star projects
    -- ability to get unity cloud feedback at a glance in the list ( build status, etc etc)


    Can we at least have that if you click on a project already open, it focuses on that editor.

    I mean... give us an "Admin" grade update for the hub please. Improve the hub so that it's more productive and adds values and information about our projects and installs, not just because you want to switch to black basically.

    Bye,

    Jean
     
    Jes28 likes this.
  28. bkevelham

    bkevelham

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Apparently the v3 beta won't download because it isn't signed. The hub json logs reveal as much:

    'Failed to download update (promise catch):',\n  { Error: New version 3.0.0-beta.2 is not signed by the application owner:
     
  29. Lupsoris

    Lupsoris

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    So I don't have to worry if I'm still in Unity 2.4.4 and I'm not getting any updates?

    EDIT: I confirm that I have the same error. Any solution?
    {"moduleName":"AutoUpdater:EventHandler","level":"warn","message":"[ 'Failed to download update (promise catch):',\n  { Error: New version 3.0.0-beta.2 is not signed by the application owner
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2021
  30. SegoItCh

    SegoItCh

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Why my unity uninstalled when I updated to 3.0.0 b2?
     
  31. FairYan

    FairYan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    1
  32. BradZoob

    BradZoob

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Posts:
    56
    CLI is a good idea, should probably have been the _first_ idea, but what it does is severely limited, we might roll 40 Unity editors over 5 years but we'll run 1000-2000 projects in that time. We need all manner of access to management, both scripted and interface; store assets (fetch/storage/version) , packages (install/version/deps), template management with versions / packages, project asset tracking. And CLI should also be available over ports for parallel systems running management s/ware, team network management etc. So expose all that via an API and write middleware for the CLI to use that API, then just expose the API in/out to users via an auto doc system, let users figure out the rest. We will celebrate every new API endpoint :)
     
    firstuser likes this.
  33. Josh65

    Josh65

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Add a "check for updates" button. Since right now changing channels I have to wait for the next release of a version for it to show up.
     
    firstuser likes this.
  34. nGAGE

    nGAGE

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Not sure if this has already been mentioned, but it's very annoying that on every launch of Unity Hub, the "Location" resets to C:\Users\[username]. Would be nice if it could remember last used folder/path, or get a setting to set a default location.

     
    Lupsoris likes this.
  35. AlanMattano

    AlanMattano

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    1,441
    Unity expiration date,
    androids will stop dreaming for free

    BLADE RUNNER 2112 ;)
     
  36. Lupsoris

    Lupsoris

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Posts:
    10
    I cannot open a project from the Unity Hub context menu in the taskbar. I don't know if it's just me, but I'm reporting this.
    Here's the associated error in the logs:
    {"level":"error","message":"Unhandled promise rejection, reason: this.validateOpenProject is not a function\n\tstack TypeError: this.validateOpenProject is not a function\n    at LocalProject.<anonymous> (D:\\Program Files\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar\\build\\main\\services\\localProject\\localProject.js:242:28)\n    at Generator.next (<anonymous>)\n    at fulfilled (D:\\Program Files\\Unity Hub\\resources\\app.asar\\build\\main\\services\\localProject\\localProject.js:5:58)","timestamp":"2021-07-24T15:49:44.961Z"}


    upload_2021-7-24_17-51-3.png
     
    unity_ARVIlab likes this.
  37. monstermiker

    monstermiker

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I also need light theme. No like the dark themes.
     
  38. MathiasFrost

    MathiasFrost

    Joined:
    May 29, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Woo dark mode ^^
     
  39. aka_anoop

    aka_anoop

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Remove from Hub doesn't seem to work for Unity Editor versions installed outside of Hub and added to Hub later.
     
  40. Maggiethegsd

    Maggiethegsd

    Joined:
    May 31, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hub 3.0 looks great and much better than the previous versions! The Dark Theme adds to it :)

    I really like the clean and organized layout, and the additional stuff such as quick details of stuff such as Editors installed (directory, version, platforms, etc). The rounded corners of the buttons make it 10 times better than the previous versions. If I had to rate it out of 5, I'd give it a 5! But, I would like to suggest something - Customization. Like customizing the button colors, maybe change the font, changing the themes and gradients, etc. That would be really cool.
     
  41. Spark88

    Spark88

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Looks amazing! where can i download it??
     
  42. RyanGarber

    RyanGarber

    Joined:
    May 20, 2021
    Posts:
    5
    I switched over to Linux (Ubuntu 20.10) and the Hub is launching, though I cannot sign in to my Unity account. The OAuth page is just a blank screen - not sure if it has anything to do with the site going down, though, as I just got a 502 on the download page.
     
  43. DryreL

    DryreL

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Posts:
    34
    I found a bug and really annoying. I added my one of the old Unity version game. The old version of Unity is not downloaded. When I click the "choose a new version", it become completely black screen. I had to restart the problem because all the UI is gone. But same thing happens, need a hotfix.
     
  44. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,165
    The Hub 3.0.0-beta.2 is super annoying and totally broken.

    For one: Please have the user have LESS CLICKS instead of more. And the location resets all the time for every project I try to create. And I mean TRY because I can't create any project at all:

    upload_2021-7-26_8-30-27.png

    It's unusable.
     
  45. BeeGeeDee

    BeeGeeDee

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Can't you change from dark theme to light theme?
     
    NumberValley likes this.
  46. mahdi_jeddi

    mahdi_jeddi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Posts:
    210
    It seems you can't create a project on root directory: Screenshot_1.png
     
  47. RogueSun

    RogueSun

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Would it be possible to allow multiple installs of the same version of unity to be shown in unity hub? When working on a cross platform game you tend to need a few installs of the same version of unity e.g. one for playstation, one for xbox and one for nintendo etc. It would be great if I didnt have to remove the playstation verson on 2019.4.11f1 and add the xbox version every time I want to switch platform :-/ This small "feature" would make my life a million times better. and stop me accidently reimporting to a different platform
     
  48. DrummerB

    DrummerB

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    129
    Gennady likes this.
  49. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,224
    Where?
     
  50. DrummerB

    DrummerB

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    129
    If you are on the old Hub, you probably just need to change the channel to Beta. If you are on V3 Beta 1, there should be an update button in the top right corner of Hub.
     
unityunity