Search Unity

Shadow Artifact Problem (bug?) on Terrain (Solution)

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Andrew_atl, Mar 11, 2011.

1. Andrew_atl

Andrew_atl

Hey I'm new to Unity since 3.0, and whenever I would add a terrain, then a directional light and turn shadows on I would get artifacts everywhere(pic on left), and reading around a few people seemed to have this problem, most suggested to change shadow settings and quality, which I tried to no success, so just playing around I found if I rotated the light on the Z-axis to around 230, or -120, it would get rid of the artifacts (pic on right). Just thought I'd post this fix if anyone else is having this problem, and see if its a bug or I'm doing something wrong.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  2. Frank Oz

Frank Oz

You need to increase the bias a little, that should fix it.

3. Andrew_atl

Andrew_atl

I had already tried that, and it did make it look better, but I had to crank it to the max which messed with how the shadows looked, and there was still artifacts, but rotating the light actually works better, which is fine since z-axis doesn't change the angle of the light or anything.. Just a weird thing.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2011
  4. Demostenes

Demostenes

I have similar problem, changing bias does not doo big difference, rotating light yes. It is not perfect, but in most cases it almost OK.This is deffinitely bug.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
  5. Demostenes

Demostenes

I tried on totally different HW and same problem. I made bug report for this for the third time, maybe this time somebody will notice.

Last edited: Apr 19, 2011
  6. Demostenes

Demostenes

Have you tried on Unity 3.3?

7. Charz

Charz