Search Unity

Feature Request Shadergraph varyings / interpolators

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by huwb, May 19, 2019.

1. huwb

huwb

Hello, this is my first time posting this format so forgive me if I make some rookie errors. I work on an ocean asset and I would very much like to move it to shadergraph.

Is there a way to pass data through interpolators, i.e. add 'Varyings' as they would be in the shader?

I do a fair bit of work in my current vertex shader, like compute various ocean attributes like foam, and pass them through varyings such as TEXCOORD2, 3, etc. I also use need the original vertex location (pre-displacement) for some shading features. The former is a significant performance concern, whereas the latter may not be solvable in a nice way - I guess I'd need to do some kind of search to go from displaced location to undisplaced.

(Random idea - it would be a pretty cool if it were possible to add a node that would accept vertex data and 'convert' it to fragment data (via varyings under the hood). No idea if this is possible!)

Thanks
    Huw

2. bgolus

bgolus

Nope.

Currently the Shader Graph passes only the pre-displaced world position from the vertex to the fragment, and not the post-displaced position... which is obviously a bug. Eventually it should at least be passing the post-displaced position, but there currently is no way to pass access both.

Having an “Original Vertex Position” node would be a nice thing to have.

I’d also love to have a “pass data from vertex to fragment” node where the input would always be calculated in the vertex.

3. ceebeee

ceebeee

It's these kind of limitations that make people shy away from using visual scripting for shaders. Give some power options for the power user!

chadfranklin47 and rustinlee like this.
  4. huwb

huwb