Search Unity

Shadergraph gradient alpha on y-axis

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Sparkmasterflex, Jan 19, 2020.

1. Sparkmasterflex

Sparkmasterflex

Hello all! I'm just learning how to use the shadergraph and I'm having a heck of a time trying to sort out what I thought would be relatively uncomplicated.

I'm trying to have a shader/material to add to a cube that has a color and a gradient (solid-ish to transparent) on the Y-axis.

I'm guessing that I need to have something set to world space so the the y-axis is consistent on all the side, but that I really am not that familiar with all this yet.

I currently have a Texture2D of a gray scale gradient and uv into a SampleTexture2d with RGBA going into the Albedo and A(1) going into Alpha and my cube looks like there's a gradient going left to right on each side of my cube and absolutely no transparency at all. (I do have the PBR surface set to "transparent")

I really don't know where to go from here or even if this is the correct start. If anyone knows how to accomplish this I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

2. Invertex

Invertex

Does your gradient texture actually have a Gradient alpha channel as well?

But regardless, you don't even need to sample a texture for that. You can use the Position node, grab its .y value and plug it into the Alpha. Also multiply the .y value by the color you want your gradient and plug it into Albedo.

This approach means you can still have proper base UVs for other texturing, but... it has its issues to workaround:
    • Object space positions of the mesh are both positive and negative relative to the object's pivot point, anything <=0 would just result in black for the gradient...
    • The positions can be greater or less than the -1 to 1 range depending on how its modeled, meaning there's no consistent value to scale the y-position by into a 0-1 gradient range.