Search Unity

Question Shader Properties per instance ?

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Opeth001, Dec 23, 2019.

1. Opeth001

Opeth001

Hello Guys,
    sorry if my question seems redundant :p but im new to shaders stuff.
    i read in the documentation a line saying we can get a single material with single shader to set parameters like color as an instance property which means 2 GameObjects both having the same Mesh and Material can have different colors and be drawn into the same Draw Call.

how can we set properties like the Color to an instance from Editor and Script without affecting all other GameObjects using the same material ?

THE LINE.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. GPU Instancing only renders identical Meshes with each draw call, but each instance can have different parameters (for example, color or scale) to add variation and reduce the appearance of repetition.

2. jamespaterson

jamespaterson

Search for "materialpropertyblock". The shader code itself also needs to support instanced properties itself. Good luck!

Opeth001 likes this.
  3. jamespaterson

jamespaterson

P.s. this advice is based on my experience of using the standard renderer, newer lwrp / urp / hdrp may work differently.

Opeth001 likes this.
  4. bgolus

bgolus

Since this is in the Shader Graph forum, indeed it should be pointed out that Shader Graph does not yet support instancing, and may never support it.

That said part of the reason why is Unity is expecting people to use the SRP Batcher option which doesn’t use dynamic batching (merging meshes of the same material into one) or instancing (rendering multiple identical meshes with the same material, with support for per-instance properties).
    https://blogs.unity3d.com/2019/02/28/srp-batcher-speed-up-your-rendering/