Search Unity

Shader: How to write a shader that respects sorting order first and then depth

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by unity_ee5j2CmTTucraQ, Sep 16, 2021.

1. unity_ee5j2CmTTucraQ

unity_ee5j2CmTTucraQ

I am very new to shaders. I have created a custom editor for MeshRenderer in order for me to edit their sorting order (m_SortingOrder). I want to modify Unity's built-in mobile unlit shader (https://github.com/TwoTailsGames/Un...rcesExtra/Mobile/Mobile-Lightmap-Unlit.shader) to respect the sorting order first and then depth second. If I have objA with sorting order of 100 and objB with sorting order of 0, the objA should be drawn on top of objB, regardless of the depth. If they have the same sorting order, then the drawing order should be determined by the depth. However, it seems like the shader is disregarding the sorting order right now.

Any help would be appreciated.

2. bgolus

bgolus

If you have a shader that does depth writes and depth tests ... the sorting order will not and cannot be respected. That's because the depth buffers explicit purpose was to make the sorting order not affect how the final image appears.

The work around for this is you have to also positionally offset your meshes if you want a specific sorting order. If you want opaque 3D mesh A to always appear behind opaque 3D mesh B, then you need to actually separate the two so that A is actually behind B.

The other hack would be to clear the depth buffer between "layers" that you don't want interacting. This can be done with multiple cameras, or by using a shader that just writes to the depth buffer.

Code (csharp):
    1. Shader "Depth Clear"
    2. {
    3.     SubShader {
    4.         Pass {
    5.             ColorMask 0 // only render to depth
    6.             Cull Off
    7.             ZWrite On
    8.             ZTest Always
    10.             CGPROGRAM
    11.             #pragma vertex vert
    12.             #pragma fragment frag