Search Unity

Shader Graph Preview always blank

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by JapaneseBreakfast, Nov 3, 2018.

  1. JapaneseBreakfast

    JapaneseBreakfast

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Every time I create a new PBR Graph, I never see anything on the preview:



    - I've saved the shader and re-opened.
    - I've added the lightweight renderer with the Package Manager
    - I've added a Lightweight Pipeline Asset to the Scriptable Render Pipeline Settings in the graphics settings.
    - I see nothing in the preview, but the shader works.

    Strangely enough, if I add any other graph I can see a circle. The PBR graph never work though. Anybody have any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

    Unity: 2018.2.14f1 Personal (64bit)
    OS: MacOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
    Graphics: Radeon Pro 450 2048 MB
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2018
  2. Daniel_unity201

    Daniel_unity201

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Similar Issue hier - any fixes?
     
  3. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,519
    Console errors?

    Also please report the bug with the bug report function.
     
  4. JapaneseBreakfast

    JapaneseBreakfast

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    I just checked and I get a lot of these warnings:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 4 (_LightIndexBuffer / PBR Master)
    2. Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 2 (_LightIndexBuffer / Sphere)
    3. Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 3 (_LightIndexBuffer / LightweightPipeline/Standard (Physically Based))
    Every time I close the Shader Graph and re-open, I get 4 of the same warnings:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Metal: Fragment shader missing buffer binding at index 4 (_LightIndexBuffer / PBR Master)
    Just in case, you can find the project here.

    I also get these images in the preview, if I resize the window, the preview goes blank.





     
  5. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    14,538
  6. JapaneseBreakfast

    JapaneseBreakfast

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Posts:
    41
    Thanks for sharing Ryiah. Can't do much about it, Unity is still working on it so it's completely understandable. Can't wait to use it the Shader Graph though, seems awesome :(
     
  7. dr4

    dr4

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Posts:
    26
    I know this post is old but it is the first result in google,I still have the same problem in anything superior to the version 2018.2.18, there I can work with the HDR normally but as soon as I try to do the same in superior versions my PBR Master is completely blank, no errors and it seems to work fine, I just don't have any preview at all which make work with shaders very hard as I need to see the effect in the scene

    upload_2019-4-28_23-17-16.png
     
  8. Soulstus

    Soulstus

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I am having the same issue in version 2019.1.1f1 everything is up to date and current in regards to packages.
     
  9. Sun-Dog

    Sun-Dog

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    142
    I've made 3 shaders using shader graph, and #4 is ... blank. No clue why.
     
  10. tsangwailam

    tsangwailam

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Posts:
    276
    My properties panel and preview also blank. running newest version 2019. Any clue?
     
  11. Gornian

    Gornian

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    I have the same.
     
  12. rsodre

    rsodre

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    This problem still persists...

    Unity 2019.1.5f
    HDRP 5.16.1
    VFX Graph 5.13.0
    macOS 10.13.6
     
  13. BenDover880

    BenDover880

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Not a fix but could be useful, try using another type of graph. For me the preview is only broken in PBR Graphs.
     
  14. rsodre

    rsodre

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Posts:
    181
    Me too, but I need PBR's Alpha Cutout
     
  15. cdrbehze

    cdrbehze

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Try updating unity to the earliest version, worked for me
     
  16. Javelin_IA

    Javelin_IA

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    i had an empty Main Preview today, but i just selected another preview object and got it to work. I Foun out that the plane i used before was shown from the bottom side where its transparent --> Main Preview seems to be empty...
     
  17. SparrowsNest

    SparrowsNest

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Posts:
    1,857
    I believe the problem is you're using the "normal" PBR Graph, you need to go into HDRP -> Blah Graph.
    I think it's for the LWRP maybe.
     
    gooodpgr likes this.
  18. monark

    monark

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,513
    The problem came for me in LWRP when I started using a Custom Forward Renderer and then it broke. Making a new Custom Forward Renderer with default settings fixes it.
    So if you are working on Shaders you need to toggle between your Pipeline renderer using your game custom forward renderer and a default one.
     
  19. Gornian

    Gornian

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    Unity, Are you kidding? Still not working!!!
    Unity version 2019.1.9 ! LWRP.
    Total blank properties and preview! When will be fix for this? From November previous year!
    OS: MacOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
     
  20. Skyler_Hawkins

    Skyler_Hawkins

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Posts:
    22
    This fixed it for me. I switched over to HDRP for my current project and noticed when I would use PBR Graph nothing would should up like it would with LWRP. I went to HDRP instead and chose one from there and now the Main Preview is working like it's suppose to.

    So, PBR Shader for LWRP and HDRP for HDRP and everything works fine.
     
  21. unity_XY9s7LplAiQxIQ

    unity_XY9s7LplAiQxIQ

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I had a same problem . the solution is using hdrp lit Graph instead of PBR which is for LWRP.
     
  22. PadenLee

    PadenLee

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    I fixed the issue preview being blank by creating a material in the project with the new shader graph assigned to it and reopened the shader and the preview worked