Search Unity

Shader graph - get position from world space

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by grossimatte, Jul 10, 2018.

1. grossimatte

grossimatte

Hello,
    i am new to the shader-graph and shaders in general.

What i am trying to do is to blend two materials using a mask. Also, the mask should then move according to the world coordinates of a given game-object so that i can use, let's say, a sphere to control the position of the mask that blends the two materials.

upload_2018-7-10_15-6-39.png

Which node should i use to fetch the world position coordinates of the sphere and how to connect it to that node?

Thanks!

2. bgolus

bgolus

A sphere is a distance from a point. So you need to get the distance from the world position from the sphere's center. If you want a smooth fade from the surface of the sphere to the center then divide that distance by the radius of the sphere. If you want to drive that fade by a texture you'll likely want a ramp texture rather than something like a particle texture, or you'll need to convert your normalized 0.0 to 1.0 radius to UVs that start at (0.5, 0.5) and go to the edge of the texture like (0.5, 1.0).

funson likes this.
  3. grossimatte

grossimatte

Hello bgolus,
    that makes sense, but i do not know how to fetch the sphere position to the nodes in the shader graph.

Would you mind giving me more specific example?

To be more clear, i want to use a different game object to drive the blend mask.

For example, i have the shader with the two blending textures applied to a plane, and i have a separate game object (a sphere or anything) that i will move nearby the plane.

I am expecting to see the blending mask moving on the plane surface according to the sphere world space position.

Thanks!

4. bgolus

bgolus