Search Unity

Question Shader Graph Apply Different colours onto different sides of the model

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Artpen, May 26, 2020.

1. Artpen

Artpen

Hi Guys,
    I am new to Shade Graph. Trying a simple shader which applies different colours to different sides of the model.
    I managed to do it with 3 faces , but opposite faces are black. I tried to add change vector orientation to -1 but it doesn't work.

Any advice?
    Thank you for help

Screenshot 2020-05-26 at 22.13.44.png Screenshot 2020-05-26 at 22.13.55.png

Attached Files:

2. Artpen

Artpen

Should be easy, but I still can't find a solution? I had another thought, even if I will apply same material on opposite sides it will look strange while orbiting around the object.

So shading should follow camera or directional light

3. Artpen

Artpen

Anyone?

4. Oxeren

Oxeren

Put an Absolute node after each Dot Product node.

Artpen likes this.
  5. Olmi

Olmi

You could also use view direction, depending on what kind of effect you are looking for. Then the coloring would be view space relative, so that left side always stays certain color and so on.

Artpen likes this.
  6. Artpen

Artpen

Cool thank you guys. I think I have found a way. I used blend node.
    Screenshot 2020-08-16 at 20.35.54.png

7. Artpen

Artpen

Now just trying to find a way to control background colour. But I think there is no an easy way.
    I want to have background white after applying post effects.

8. Artpen

Artpen

This is cool. It might help. Cause currently I have left and right side same color.
    So when I look from shadow side it looks strange light face in dark.

Using view direction should solve this problem...

9. Jesus

Jesus

Are you typically going to be doing this with a cube? and you want each face to have its own color?