Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Shader Forge - A visual, node-based shader editor

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by Acegikmo, Jul 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rcalt2vt

    rcalt2vt

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Posts:
    36
  2. Vaupell

    Vaupell

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    245
  3. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    I had to celebrate the submission day with a little Baileys :D
    Cheers, and let's hope this is the start of an amazing journey!

     
  4. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    Bourbon!

    $Cheers_Bourbon.JPG

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  5. Thomas-Pasieka

    Thomas-Pasieka

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,121
    Coke with Bacardi Gold...
     

    Attached Files:

  6. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    Redacted!
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  7. Thomas-Pasieka

    Thomas-Pasieka

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,121
    What did I forget? :)
     
  8. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    I'm very excited for where this is headed hehe :D

    (oh and +1 for the Coke glass...love English pints)
     
  9. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,281
    Any port in a storm

     
  10. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Hahah, I think it's working, I just got a mail saying it was accepted :D
    Says it will be live within the next hour!
     
  11. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Also, posting this for a friend who joined in!

     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  12. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
  13. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,281
    I have my credit card ready and on my desk right as we speak.
     
  14. Thomas-Pasieka

    Thomas-Pasieka

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,121
    Congrats again on getting it approved and into the store! Hope you have plenty of sales!
     
  15. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,281
  16. purkie103

    purkie103

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Posts:
    6
    Just had to retake as a new one had been added since I last loaded the page.

    $XVPP080.jpg

    Congratulation I shall be keeping an eye on this until my bank is healthy enough to pick it up, I expect this will become a very useful tool for many of the artists around here.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  17. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    You all need 4.3.2 just fyi (been waiting for DL and install)...

    ...but now PURCHASED! :D

    -Steven
     
  18. nipoco

    nipoco

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2,008
  19. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    Hmmm...opening your example scene in Win7 (DX11), and the Alpha isn't working with the Sunlight shadows active.

    The Vegetation Shader and the DX11 Tess shader both are a dark-medium grey with Shadows on.

    Thoughts?

    Specs:

    Alienware m17x R3
    580m w/2gigs
     
  20. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Could it be that you have deferred rendering on?
     
  21. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    Ooooh so no Deferred huh?

    Yea that was it and now its fine...is Deferred planned?

    Thanks man!
     
  22. nipoco

    nipoco

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Posts:
    2,008
    Deferred does not support transparent shaders...
     
  23. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Deferred is planned!
    Most shaders work in deferred rendering (But will be rendered in forward), but some do look wonky, transparency is the trickest one.

    The messy part of deferred is that it's a completely different structure of rendering shaders, so there's quite a lot to be rewritten for it to work!

    But yes, it is planned, one of the top priority features :)
     
  24. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    (Thanks Nipoco)

    ...and sweet Acegikmo thank you! This does look rather fantastic btw, awesome job man!
     
  25. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Thanks Steve! I'd love to see what you create in it!
     
  26. SteveB

    SteveB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Posts:
    1,448
    When I have something...anything...you'll be the first to know! :D
     
  27. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    I haven't seen anything posted yet so I'm a bit worried that it didn't work for anyone, haha
     
  28. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,281
  29. rcalt2vt

    rcalt2vt

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Posts:
    36
    Purchased!
     
  30. Kirbyrawr

    Kirbyrawr

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Posts:
    945
    I will buy it tomorrow now i need to sleep a little haha, congratulations Ace!
     
  31. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    How do I get a color to show up in the properties? It does it for the diffuse textures automatically but I want to be able to change the color of an outline.

    $Outline.PNG

    Also, with the outline, it works in this picture but when I hit compile shader, the outline goes black. When I use the outline in game, the outline is black as well.

    If I link the tint color to the outline it seems to have the outline color when compiled. Not sure if this and the properties not showing up are related.

    Also, how do you remove unneeded nodes?

    $del.PNG
     
  32. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    That's strange. Are you sure the materials are set up properly?
    As in, did you create a material using the shader, rather than fiddling with the internal material?

    Manually, right now! It should be pretty straightforward to add, feel free to request it! --> http://shaderforge.userecho.com/
     
  33. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    Here's a better screen shot. It's not working in the editor to start with, as well as the game.

    $error.PNG

    When you say manually, what do you mean? Is there no way to right click delete or something?
     
  34. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    I also created the material from scratch in game this is what it looks like: $matnew.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    • $Mat.PNG
      $Mat.PNG
      File size:
      23.9 KB
      Views:
      1,436
  35. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Oh, sorry, I misinterpreted your question then :)
    I thought you meant a single button to remove all disconnected nodes! In that case, just select them and press delete! Select and then Ctrl+backspace works too.

    The color property issue does look very strange indeed, definitely a bug. If you delete the lower color node and make a new one, does it fix itself up?
     
  36. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    I see! I got the bug now too, it's reproducible. I'll look into it right now!

    Thanks for the bug report - I would appreciate if you could make it on UserEcho instead though, so it's easier for others to see when/if it's already reported, and if it's fixed already or not ;)
     
  37. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    OK cool, on a Macbook Pro with Bootcamp, it's ctrl+delete :)

    After cleaning it up, I deleted the color replaced it - it's still having the same issue.

    $2nd.JPG
     
  38. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    I'm going to bed now, so I won't be able to respond to requests for a few hours! This has been quite an amazing day so far! Excited about getting started on the bugfixing for the next version tomorrow, and perhaps have a chance to see some of the things you make with SF :)
    Goodnight!
     
  39. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    Is there any way to get the outline to honor the blending and depth setting?

    When the depth settings are defaulted, the object is rendered behind.

    $DepthBehind.JPG

    When changed to overlay, only the texture is drawn as an overlay but the outline is still being culled?

    $DepthInFront.JPG

    Ideally, I would like to get it the other way around, not depth test the outline but depth test the texture :)

    Cheers
     
  40. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Possibly yeah!
    Could you open a feature request on UserEcho? :)
     
  41. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
  42. Marco-Sperling

    Marco-Sperling

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Posts:
    598
    Just wanted to say: insta-buy!

    I had alot of fun with the alpha/beta. And Joachim is a really nice guy who is very commited to SF. So if you guys need custom tailored shaders but lack the coding abilities required SF might be the way to go.

    Btw.:
    You should stress the realtime preview in your feature list in the asset store, Ace.
     
  43. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Thanks Marco!
    I'll change the description a bit :)

    Oh, also, if any of you used the alpha/beta, it would be very nice of you if you could write a little review on the asset store!
    It seems like a very small % of buyers generally do write reviews, so it would he helpful, I think!
     
  44. Kirbyrawr

    Kirbyrawr

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Posts:
    945
    Bought! Just wake up xD
     
  45. DSebJ

    DSebJ

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    101
    That is an awesome feature but I think it's even more amazing that I can see the updated shader instantly in game!
     
  46. TeddyBergsman

    TeddyBergsman

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    $photo.JPG

    Joining the party with some russian (likely lethal) vodka! Congrats Joachim! :D
     
  47. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Haha, cheers Teddy! 7 drinks so far :D
     
  48. exiguous

    exiguous

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    hey acegikmo,
    i also want to purchase your package but i'm a bit concerned that no sourcecode is included (just dll). any specific reasons for that or plans to change this? the reason i ask is that some assets simply get abandoned and without source access one cannot change/improve/adapt it. especially for high-priced assets this is very annoying. and when i read phrases like "if it sells well" i'm especially cautious. i understand when someone does not invest more time into asset development especially when it does not generate enough income. but please also understand that most people here don't want to waste their money. having no source access makes it more likely that an asset cannot be used for whatever reason. i hope you understand that.
     
  49. Acegikmo

    Acegikmo

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    1,256
    Absolutely!
    It has been going really well so far, so I wouldn't worry :)

    The reason I have a .dll is to keep the asset folder as clean as possible, and to make it slightly harder to access the source code. I've considered atlasting all the interface elements as well to save space, especially when you're searching for something in your project, you don't want plugins to show up. If I could I would shove everything into a single file!
    The .dll is basically just a C# folder, it's quite easy to decompile it into the code, exactly as it looks on my end.

    But if it reaches some sort of end of development, I could of course make it (more) open source if that's what people want :)
     
  50. imaginaryhuman

    imaginaryhuman

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    5,705
    I can't believe you got this approved in like a matter of hours, lol.. they must've been watching for your asset! Congratulations! Going to purchase it now. :)

    ... oh wow, you also got a featured spot on the homepage... mega traffic for you today!

    You might want to create a forum thread in the asset store forum.. quite a number of customers find stuff that way.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity