Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Question Shader error 'LoadDOTSInstancedData_float3': no matching 2 parameter function

Discussion in 'Graphics for ECS' started by Selmar, May 9, 2023.

  1. Selmar

    Selmar

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Posts:
    61
    Hi,

    I've set a custom property to `Hybrid per Instance`, but I get these compiler errors:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. Shader error in 'Master': 'LoadDOTSInstancedData_float3': no matching 2 parameter function at line 1021 (on d3d11)
    3. Shader error in 'Master': undeclared identifier 'unity_DOTSInstancingF12_Metadata_Emission' at line 1021 (on d3d11)
    The shader is very simple, just an Emission property linked to Emission.

    The issue seems to be simply that the graph precision is set to "half" and not "single". Is this a known issue? I didn't find anything about it in the documentation.
     
  2. bigbrainz

    bigbrainz

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Posts:
    191
    Ever find anything on this? Same issue for me in 2022.2.19.
     
  3. JussiKnuuttila

    JussiKnuuttila

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Posts:
    352
    If your property is declared as a float3, I would suggest trying to declare it as a float4 instead. The "F12" (short for float, 12 bytes) seems to suggest it's a float3, which is a less tested path so there could be a bug.
     
  4. bnmguy

    bnmguy

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Posts:
    137
    I get the exact same with LoadDOTSInstancedData_float4. So something is broken. Has been for ages now. I'll add it to the list of things that make unity completely unusable (along with editor crashes ever 2 mins on macOS).
     
  5. JussiKnuuttila

    JussiKnuuttila

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Posts:
    352
    If you can file a bug with a repro project, we can take a look at why the shader is not compiling and fix the bug.
     
    jensschmidt likes this.