Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We are updating our Terms of Service for all Unity subscription plans, effective October 13, 2022, to create a more streamlined, user-friendly set of terms. Please review them here: unity.com/legal/terms-of-service.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

TextMesh Pro Shader error in 'TextMeshPro/Distance Field.Why this error?

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by zyonneo, Jun 2, 2021.

  1. zyonneo

    zyonneo

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    383
    Hi I tried to add UI which have some basic settings of TextMesh pro which I exported from another project. I could not find the shader property TextMeshPro/Distance Field.I tried with other fields like TextMeshPro/Distance Overlay but text is not showing.When I checked on the project from I imported it looks fine.




    Settings from project I imported given below
     
  2. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    6,530
    What version of Unity and TextMeshPro package are you using?

    Have you tried re-importing the TMP Essential Resources? To do so, go to "Window - TextMeshPro - Import TMP Essential Resources".
     
    Spicyruby likes this.
  3. zyonneo

    zyonneo

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    383
    @Stephan_B I spend many hours in this. I did not mention that I tried all the methods you suggested(removed textmesh pro folder,reimport).For some reason when I change the font asset in Textmeshpro UI ,the text disappears. So I removed the textmesh pro from the inspector and pressed undo key(ctrl + z).Finally text showed .Is that a bug?
     
  4. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    6,530
    Do you get the same behavior with the font assets included with TMP?

    For instance, when you create a new UI - Text - TextMeshPro object, it should assign the LiberationSans SDF font asset to it. Does the text on that object when using this font asset render as expected?

    Can you post an image of your font asset inspector where I can see the Face Info and Generation Settings?
     
unityunity