Search Unity

Question Shader displacement around colliders?

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by Natecurt, Apr 22, 2019.

1. Natecurt

Natecurt

Hi,

I am fairly new to Unity's shader graph and was hoping someone may be able to help me achieve the following effect.

I am trying to create a dynamic shader which displaces from certain areas in realtime. Ideally, I would like to be able to have this shader fill the scene everywhere except for areas which have colliders with a specific tag or of a specific layer. (Similarly to shadows which wrap around the only light source in a dark room).

I do not want to mask the shader as it does not give the result I am looking for.

As of right now, the only options I see available are:

1. Using a realtime boolean subtraction on the mesh of this shader.
    2. Some sort of shader displacement method I am not familiar with.

If you have any ideas for how I may be able to achieve this effect or need more details please let me know.

Thanks

2. Fainth

Fainth

3. Natecurt

Natecurt

Thanks for the reply!

I will attach some quick examples of what I mean.

In the images, the shader is represented by the black outer portions of the image. The white portions represent "light" or the areas unaffected by the shader. Essentially, I want to be able to control where a shader is being displayed dynamically. Since the game is top down, I image the shader to be on an object which is a child of the player so that when the player moves around the object with the shader will follow. Therefore, whenever the player walks by a "light source"(image 2) this object's shader needs to basically mask itself from these areas. Like I mentioned before, a mask wont work in this case as it is a 3D shader and the edges will not transition nicely. Perhaps there would be a way to smoothly transition vertexes underneath the ground plane rather than masking them? I am already using vertex displacement on my shader however so I'm not sure that will work.