Search Unity

1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Shader Debugging Techniques

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by emmalloyd, Feb 12, 2014.

1. emmalloyd

emmalloyd

I'm new to shaders so sorry if this is a noobish question, but I can't seem to find anything useful anywhere.

Could one of you shader geniuses explain to me exactly how it is that you debug your shaders? I've seen comments where people say to output stuff as a color to a UV, but no one explains how to do it, or explain how to decipher the color information once it's done.

What I would like to know is what techniques you use and exactly how do they work?
    Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you for your time :)

Buildabit likes this.
  2. Duney

Duney

I found that practicing a lot helps at the start. The more you understand what is going on within the shader the better you understand why something might be the wrong colour somewhere (black or white is usually the common colours things go I find). This is usually something with normals being inverted in places.

Also, when people say output variables in the shader, this simply means return fixed4( colour you want here ). So if you have a complicated shader, go from top to bottom, outputting certain colours at specific intervals Output Diffuse->Diffuse+Spec->Diffuse+Refl and you can find what bits of code are causing issues with your shader.

Obviously, when its an un-wanted bright pink, Unity will usually give you some error codes to work from which is a lot more helpful then when shaders compile and run but don't do exactly what you want.

Also, for outputting UV/world positions/normals, the colours are usually the same throughout different objects (Normals/positons towards the camera are the same in different projects [If your code is correct obviously])

3. emmalloyd