Search Unity

Question Shader Behaviour in Android

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by kislotaooankit, Jul 6, 2020.

1. kislotaooankit

kislotaooankit

Hey all ,

I am a Newbie who just started with shaders graphs. I was designing a clipping plane which would turn the alpha of mesh behind the plane as 0 and infront of it in an ARfoundation Application

I am doing this by calculating plane normal and using the dot product of 3d model and plane normal vector to decide whether the point of mesh is above plane or behind.

Desired Working Video :

In above example I have attached a clipping shader on 3d model ,clipping script on Quad Plane, and its working as desired in unity editor.

Problem In android :

However the plane behavior angle is completely changed in my phone .

Clipping Script attached to Quad Plane.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    5. //[ExecuteInEditMode]
    6. public class ClippingPlane : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     // Start is called before the first frame update
    10.     public Material mat;
    11.     public int slider; //used to determine how early clipping should start from the plane
    13.     void Start()
    14.     {
    15.     }
    17.     // Update is called once per frame
    18.     void Update()
    19.     {
    20.         Vector4 planepos = new Vector4(transform.position.x, transform.position.y, transform.position.z + slider, 0);
    21.         mat.SetVector("_PlanePos", planepos);
    22.         mat.SetVector("_PlaneNorm", transform.forward); // to get the normal vector of plane emitting outwards
    23.         //mat.SetVector("_PlaneNorm", transform.right); tried with all possible combination
    24.         //mat.SetVector("_PlaneNorm", transform.up);    but still getting that same left to right clipping in my                                                                                             phone.
    26.     }