Search Unity

  1. All Pro and Enterprise subscribers: find helpful & inspiring creative, tech, and business know-how in the new Unity Success Hub. Sign in to stay up to date.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

SG Patcher - Update your game easily

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by sidgincompany, Mar 29, 2020.

  1. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    SG Patcher - modern game update system. The system split your game into the main part and downloadable part. It works with platforms: Android/IOS/Windows/Mac/Linux/UWP.


    Reasons why you might need this system:
    - You need to distribute your game, but don't know how.
    - You need to make additional updates for your application on the Play Market/App Store
    - You want to update the game or download additional files after starting the game.
    - You want your users to be able to download more than 100/200 mb over Cellular Data.
    - You want your users to download only the modified part of the game.
    - You want to make your own game launcher for desktop platforms.
    - You often update the game and want players to quickly receive your updates.
    - You want to add scenes/materials/animations and other resources in one click without Play Market/AppStore.
    - You do not want to rewrite the entire project to work with AssetBundles.
    - Your game is difficult to use AssetBundles.
    - You want to check the integrity of your game before launching.


    With our system you will be able to configure the update process in a few minutes. You will have to just fill in a few fields, and after that the system itself will pack all the necessary game resources and send them to the server. SGPatcher does not require special servers. Use any storage that can be accessed via FTP/SFTP or Amazon S3 or even Google Drive.

    SG Patcher compares the previous version of the game and the new one and tracks changes in files, which allows to make patches with very small size.

    If you need to update scripts on mobile platforms with SGPatcher, this is easy to do, add new scripts to the project, use them on scenes, send the update using SGPatcher. Next, you need to send a new version of scripts to PlayMarket/AppStore. The version in PlayMarket/AppStore will be synchronized with the SGPatcher update pack.

    Features:

    - Binary diff algorithm
    - In-game update
    - Support: Android, IOS, etc
    - Support IL2CPP
    - Localization (Multilingual)
    - SG Resources (Alternative to Unity "Resources", SGResources are not included in the main build, but come with a downloadable part)
    - Resume download support
    - Offline mode
    - Integrity check
    - Launcher
    - Google Drive
    - Amazon S3
    - FTP/SFTP
    - RockTomate CI/CD
    - .NET Standard 2.0 API
    - Different degrees of protection against breakdowns and hacking
    - Works in Catalina(OSX)
    - Lock launch app without Launcher
    - WPF and Xamarin

    Plugin supports: Any OS except WebGL.
    Unity client supports: Any OS except WebGL(Android, IOS, etc).

    Launcher supports: WIN, Linux, OSX.
    AssetStore: http://u3d.as/1LSh
    Site:
    sgpatcher.
    Support: unitysupport@sidgin.com.


    Really looking forward to your opinion and questions!
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2020
  2. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Sale 80% OFF.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2020
  3. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Video on how SG Patcher works on mobile devices.
     
  4. FlodLab

    FlodLab

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    does this already work for android?
     
  5. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Yes, sure.
     
  6. FlodLab

    FlodLab

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    The please do a tutorial on how to get it working on android.

    upload_2020-4-18_8-37-32.png
     
  7. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello! Thanks for reply! We recorded a video lesson for working with Asset Bundles. Now it is in the process of video editing. It will take literally several hours. While we wait, you can go to our Discord channel there is video without processing. https://discord.gg/3kXeRzv
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2020
  8. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Tutorial for working with SG Patcher AssetBundles (Android, IOS, etc):
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2020
  9. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
  10. unitynosf

    unitynosf

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Hi.

    This looks amazing, by the first look.
    Still have to go through videos to get a better understanding (I'm trying to be like thorough lol, otherwise - it's already sold). It seems like you've done great job, especially supporting Android/iOS.

    I do have question or two, kinda specific maybe but if you can find time to answer shortly, would be appreciated.

    1. Could this be used to simply reduce game install size (APK/IPA) and then load content after install?
    Like, for example - I pack up just enough in build to have "menu scene" working and then load maps/players and other typical content that takes a lot of build size - like textures, scenes etc via this system?

    I'm essentially trying to figure out would this be a way simpler alternative to typical assetbundles flow?

    2. IF Question #1 answer is yes, then would it be safe to assume that something like this would work:

    A) Published APK, for example, of a game is version 1.00 (or any that has this system inside for first time).
    B) "Update" or patch is 1.01 and ready on server, containing everything that is not built.
    C) Upon opening the game, system detects that there is new version available and simply pulls the content & sorts things out?***

    *** Version 1.01 obviously being the "full game".

    I hope I was able to explain my thoughts. I'm developing for years now but have been so lucky to avoid AssetBundles or any remote content in games, however it's way overdue to get to that, we're getting very limited with current game development in these areas where build size and game size matters.

    Thank you so much in advance!
     
  11. unitynosf

    unitynosf

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Hi;

    So, yeah I bought the asset - I figured it's doable way I asked, after going through manual and video.
    Looks good! Fairly easy to setup.

    With some thoughts into project structure - should be just nice to use. For example, in my projects I've moved to using strict directory strucure already long time ago (e.g. _Scenes, _Resources, _Scripts) so all checks out.

    However, I did stumble upon an interesting issue. Please see image attached.

    After I configured & tested FTP connection, sorted out asset bundles settings (all fields except assemblies as I figured it's optional, which was to be OK for quick test) - and made a build versoin in "Versions tab"; I got to this exception.

    Actually, first one was that directory VERSIONS is not existing. Then, since there was no obvious workaround for that - I made it myself in project root directory. Then after - it started to give this exception upon clicking the "Build and patch" button in "Versions" tab.

    Up to this point of writing this, I have exhausted all - what might seem as - Windows 10 security settings, by even granting full possible rights to all users on that folder. Not sure if that might be the issue or I missed something in configuration?

    I am using Unity 2019.3.6f, am on Android target platform and tried to build with AssetBundles option as mentioned above. Any thoughts/insights on this VERSIONS folder and possible cause for bug/issue?

    EDIT: I did notice that files actually get built and uploaded to FTP regardless of this VERSION folder exception, but after running the APK - I get fully same message as Floddi, few posts up.

    Thank you!

    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 19, 2020
  12. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello, Please provide settings information from "Asset Bundles Settings".
     
  13. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Please check this fields:
    upload_2020-4-20_11-39-2.png
     
  14. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    1. Yes it is possible.
    2. Absolutely, all of these points occur. In addition, if an error occurs during application, the program will reinstall the main package.
    Also:
    - There is a function to change the start version, see the documentation.
    - There is an integrity check function. It can be like protection against cracker programs that replace dlls. If you select "Need to check integrity before start" in the settings SG Patcher will not allow fake dll to run.
     
  15. unitynosf

    unitynosf

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Hello;

    here's the settings - all relevant I hope - from Unity editor:

    SG settings:
    - all should check out
    - scenes that would be remote content are in "Content" folder, rest are in build
    - _Resources is now empty at the moment, but that's likely also irrelevant to case?

    Build settings:
    - Loader as first scene, also - I am using "AfterLoad" scene to be next one, which is not packed into remote data, that's deliberate at this point just to go through patching sucessfully (not getting the loader exception)

    I was able to get it working at around 50% success rate:
    - in editor - when I click "Clear cache" in tool window - it's the only way it works
    - if I press play without clearing cache - it throws storage exception (which Floddi reported and myself)
    - on Android device and Bluestacks - not working, immediately goes to same error (app installed first time)

    Let me know if you can make something out of this, I know it's not ideal - but I can share the project as well if need be (just a dummy project with nothing inside aside plugin and dummy empty scenes).

    Thank you!

    EDIT:
    I also noted that, I guess due to VERSIONS folder exception - whenever I do make a new version, and should then see 2 (according to manual - where I could set any version as "initial"), but instead it just always shows highest version.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 20, 2020
  16. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Please contact me at discord: https://discord.gg/3kXeRzv. I have not yet been able to repeat your case. I need to consider it in more detail. Thanks!
     
  17. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    The unitynosf problem was caused by IL2CPP compilation. Now SG Patcher (version 1.4.1+) supports builds with IL2CPP.
     
  18. IslaDela

    IslaDela

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    I have a question. You say that the scenes should not be included in the build settings.
    But if I do not include a scene in build settings the scene don't get a ID, and then it breaks my other assets since they only works with scene ids.
    Is this correct from what I understand from the documentation?
     
  19. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello! Thank you for reply!
    Yes, this is true, since it is impossible to set scene index in runtime. Load scenes by name:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. SceneManager.LoadScene("test");
    You can also add scenes to build settings which simply will act as a loader of dynamic scenes.
     
  20. IslaDela

    IslaDela

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    Ah so this won't work with World Streamer scenes or Sectr scenes then since I think the levels have to be included in the build settings for it to work..
    This was really what I was looking for, but I guess it's not going to be possible. Thanks anyway
     
  21. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    You can fix the World Streamer script a bit. Or to match the scene name and index. For example, use Dictionary <int, string>.
     
  22. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello! Today I tested SGPatcher on uMMORPG and it works great.
    upload_2020-5-4_13-56-52.png
     
  23. nektarko

    nektarko

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,
    1) How will the launcher react to the lack of an Internet connection or if the server is offline?
    2) Is it possible to launch application in this case and is there any prompts or warnings about the offline mode?
    3) Is it possible to modify the launcher?
     
  24. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
  25. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    i am just imported the asset and get error i cant use bc that error can help me plz
     
  26. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello!
    1) The launcher will report a connection error.
    2) Offline mod is under development.
    3) Yes, the package resources have archives with projects for WPF and Xamarin
     
  27. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello! This error indicates that you have not created any projects with definition type = AssetBundles. Check the documentation please 1.4. Thank you for using SG Patcher!
    upload_2020-5-7_11-25-32.png
     
  28. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    I dont have that opcion for game resource just for scene i can use but dony exporte game resource how can fic that my unity is 2018.4.2.21
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2020
  29. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello!
    What mode are you using? Standard or AssetBundles?
    Have you upgraded SG Patcher to 1.5.3?
    If you have AssetBundles mode. Before starting the Loader scene. Please create the first version of the game.
     
  30. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
  31. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    i was asset bundle bc i want uploading playstore nice asset
     
  32. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,160
    Very interested in this...do you have an ETA on offline mode?
     
  33. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    what is ETA? sorry but i know what is that
     
  34. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello! Offline mode in dev.
    upload_2020-5-8_23-18-53.png
     
  35. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Can you tell me what difficulties you have when creating versions? Are there any errors?
     
  36. gecko

    gecko

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,160
    Great, but have you got an idea of when it'll be released?
     
  37. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    i cant export game resource when my game is loader dont have models
     
  38. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
  39. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    In the coming days, at the moment we are transferring documentation to the site.
     
    nektarko and gecko like this.
  40. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
  41. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    but is diferent i dont have that opción
     
  42. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    What version of SGPatcher do you have?
     
  43. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    1.5.3 I was make SGResource folder and copy all prefabs and resource adn i will test again
     
  44. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    I cant get resource
     

    Attached Files:

  45. Eimyfabiolacr

    Eimyfabiolacr

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    Now all is purple in unity in the same scene
     
  46. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
  47. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    Hello! I added offline mode support in version 1.5.4.
     
    nektarko and gecko like this.
  48. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
  49. sidgincompany

    sidgincompany

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Posts:
    64
    SG Patcher new video manual:
     
  50. Full_Tilt

    Full_Tilt

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    Hello and thanks for making this asset.

    I am using MacOSX unity 2019.2 with SGPatcher version 1.5.5 and having some problems. I have created a version, but I don't see a "Save Configuration" button like the docs show.

    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 11.36.26 AM.png

    And when I set the Asset Bundles Storage Scenes Path, I do not see the scenes from the folder (they are there) like the docs show. Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 11.36.42 AM.png

    Thank you for any help.

    Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 11.36.26 AM.png Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 11.36.42 AM.png Screen Shot 2020-05-27 at 11.36.26 AM.png

    I am using AssetBundles Type and checked "Check integrity" and "Run the game when the Internet connection is disconnected"
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2020
unityunity