Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

SetUp Robot Arms

Discussion in 'Animation' started by 3DJayC, Feb 12, 2015.

  1. 3DJayC

    3DJayC

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    Hello,

    I'm trying to setup an industrial robot, a Delta-Robot.

    You can see its cinematic in the following attached image.
    Here is a video of the same machine :


    I tried to achieve this in unity, with a chain of dummy with "look at" and constraints but it doesn't work very well...

    I'd like to reproduce three Ik chain from the top of the machine which is fixed on the ceiling.

    I'd like to control only the part in the red circle, animate its position, and only positions.
    In 3dsmax it's very easy to setup something like this but I'd like to reproduce it in unity, it will simplify the animation process. I want to avoid exporting animation from max because, the animation of this robot will depend of other animated objects in my scene and adjust positions and rythm of the arms...

    I also tried some Free scripts of IK chain but no sucess...

    So, do someone has a solution to set up a model like this?






     
  2. 3DJayC

    3DJayC

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    I feel lonely... :(
     
  3. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,790
  4. 3DJayC

    3DJayC

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    Hello!

    I allready tried the first one but it's too instable.
    I'll have a look at the second...

    Thanks dude, but may be there is a simple way to achieve this...?

    JC
     
  5. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,790
    Maybe, none that I've yet had to setup so I can't say based on any past experience.
    My first thought was the way you attempted the setup initially.

    You are correct this can be set up in Max in 5 short minutes, so I'd attempt to set it up in Unity the same way as you have already attempted.
    I don't understand why this couldn't be achieved with simple IK joints in Unity, if you are using Pro. What was your results from setting up IK beyond it didn't work very well?
     
  6. thanhcongchien

    thanhcongchien

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    @3D
    Have you done? bro
     
unityunity