Search Unity

  1. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Setting up mlAgents for actual trainig is not working for me

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by Flysurfer-fan, May 10, 2020.

  1. Flysurfer-fan

    Flysurfer-fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hello everyone

    i'm relatively fresh and had a first look on Unitys ML-Agents yesterday.
    At this point i'm desperate and dont know what to do or to try.

    My Versions:

    - Unity 2019.3.13f1
    - Python 3.7
    - ML-Agents 0.16.0
    - TensorFlow 2.2.0


    My problem:
    I followed the unity guides and installed everything, including the examples, accordingly.
    Running "push Block" in inference mode works fine without any errors.
    When i run the console command to train, there are only issues with cuda-versions, but i dont have a nvidia card so thats no problem for me right?
    After getting the "Listening on port 5004. Start training by pressing the Play button in the Unity Editor." message in console i hit play in unity. Than nothing happens except unity displays the following error in the console: "Couldn't connect to trainer on port 5004 using API version 1.0.0. Will perform inference instead." Last thing in the windows console is of course a UnityTimeoutException.

    I already tried several things including turning of the firewall or using older ml-agent versions (014.1 and 0.15.1)
    Maybe you guys have some ideas.


    Small update:
    I notized, that in my uploaded images, i wasn't running any commands in a virtual environments, but even with adjusting this issue, there is no difference.
    I tried the same process on my girlfriends laptop and everything works fine right out of the box.
    I really dont have any ideas how i could have messed up.

    Update 2:
    Because i didnt know anything else to do, i reinstalled windows without keeping any data, programs or setups.
    My problem stays the same, at this point im totally desperate.
    Im not too deep in windows functionallity, may my unity installation on D: instead of C: might be an issue?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 11, 2020
  2. TreyK-47

    TreyK-47

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Posts:
    523
    I'll kick this over to the team for them to have a look!
     
  3. chrisaharden

    chrisaharden

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Posts:
    1
  4. domdev

    domdev

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    341
    same any solution for this?
     
  5. Flysurfer-fan

    Flysurfer-fan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I dont know what really caused my issue, but its solved now.
    I had to completely reinstall Windows from scratch. Not only using the windows creation tool, but also formatting my C: drive and booting from USB.
    Now everything is working fine, maybe this is an option for you guys.
     
    erki338 likes this.
  6. domdev

    domdev

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Posts:
    341
  7. erki338

    erki338

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    im thinking to do the same. I have 2 pcs made everything exactly same on both and on my main computer its not working other one has no problems at all
     
unityunity