Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We have updated the language to the Editor Terms based on feedback from our employees and community. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Setting Environments for UGS and RemoteConfig Without Needing Name and ID

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by Tomumental, Feb 1, 2022.

  1. Tomumental

    Tomumental

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2021
    Posts:
    11
    For the general UGS setup I am using the environment name:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. var options = new InitializationOptions();
    2. options.SetEnvironmentName("development");
    3. await UnityServices.InitializeAsync(options);
    But for RemoteConfigs, I they reccomend using the envirnment's ID to initialize:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. ConfigManager.SetEnvironmentID("aaaaaaaa-bbbb-1234-9876-abcd1234abc");
    Is there a way to initialize either of these the opposite way such that I only need to store/modify a single variable an have both point to a new environment?
     
  2. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    278
    Hi Tomumental,

    Thanks for your feedback.
    I will report this to the team and see if there is a way to unify both into one.

    upload_2022-2-1_15-7-47.png

    If the ConfigManager had :
    ConfigManager.SetEnvironmentName("development") would this do the trick?

    OR

    It was brought to my attention that you would like to have the 1 call that would also set the environment for remote config?

    We are looking into this feedback. Thanks again
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2022
  3. Tomumental

    Tomumental

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2021
    Posts:
    11
    Yep
    ConfigManager.SetEnvironmentName("development");
    would be perfect!
     
    SebT_Unity likes this.
  4. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    278
    Hi @Tomumental ,
    As a workaround you can try the following:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. var options = new InitializationOptions().SetOption("com.unity.services.core.environment-name", "dev");
    2. await UnityServices.InitializeAsync(options);
    This would let you set the environment name through the options.

    I have tested this locally with success. Let me know if you have any issues.

    All the best,
    Seb
     
  5. Tomumental

    Tomumental

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2021
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks that works!
     
    SebT_Unity likes this.