Search Unity

Question Setting Entity Parent and Following Parent

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by flyQuixote, Sep 28, 2020.

1. flyQuixote

flyQuixote

I've been working with dots for a few months and I've been a bit confused at how to handle parenting. I'm trying to add a moving platform that will carry the player entity along with it. As of right now I'm having a difficult time getting it to work. The general code I'm using is this

Code (CSharp):
    2. float deltaTime = Time.DeltaTime;
    3. var commandBuffer = World.GetOrCreateSystem<EndSimulationEntityCommandBufferSystem>().CreateCommandBuffer().AsParallelWriter();
    5. // Only applies to grounded KCC characters with a KCC velocity.
    6. Entities.ForEach((
    7.     Entity entity,
    8.     int entityInQueryIndex,
    9.     ref KCCVelocity velocity,
    10.     ref Translation translation,
    11.     in KCCGrounded grounded) =>
    12.     {
    13.         // Displacement of floor
    14.         float3 displacement = float3.zero;
    16.         // Bit jittery but this could probably be fixed by smoothing the movement a bit
    17.         // to handle server lag and difference between positions
    18.         if (!grounded.Falling)
    19.         {
    20.             if (this.HasComponent<MovementTracking>(grounded.hitEntity))
    21.             {
    22.                 MovementTracking track = this.GetComponent<MovementTracking>(grounded.hitEntity);
    23.                 displacement = MovementTracking.GetDisplacementAtPoint(track, grounded.groundedPoint);
    24.                 // translation.Value += displacement;
    25.                 if (HasComponent<Parent>(entity))
    26.                     commandBuffer.SetComponent<Parent>(entityInQueryIndex, entity, new Parent { Value = grounded.hitEntity });
    27.                 else
    28.                     commandBuffer.AddComponent<Parent>(entityInQueryIndex, entity, new Parent { Value = grounded.hitEntity });