Search Unity

Set Script Property of PreFab To GameObject Instance

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SROSeaner, Feb 13, 2015.

1. SROSeaner

SROSeaner

I am very new to Unity and am going through tutorials. I tried to research this problem, but not sure how to ask it because I am so new to Unity, so I am not getting the answers I require.

Learning right now how to move game objects relative to one other.

I have a sphere in the center, and wish to instantiate other small sphere's that use RotateAround to basically orbit center sphere.

I created the "Small Sphere" as a prefab, and then instantiate a bunch of them on "Center Sphere's" Start method.

I have in my editor an Empty GameObject which holds my "Center Sphere" for now

My PreFab for the "Small Sphere" has a public GameObject property of which I would drag the "Center Sphere" into to reference it's position, but I can't drag and drop "Center Sphere" into the PreFab.

So if I add a Rigidbody to my "Empty Game Object", gravity causes the "Center Sphere" to fall to infinity and my "Small Sphere's" keep rotating around the original point.

I thought I could tell the "Small Sphere's" in their "Update" method to update the point they rotate around based on the transform position of the "Center Sphere". But my dilemma is I cannot figure out how to reference the position of the "Center Sphere".

Code (CSharp):
    1. // Sample Update method from my "Small Sphere" prefab
    2. void Update()
    3.     {
    4.                 // Want to create my point based on the
    5.                 // transform position of the Centre Sphere.
    6.                 // How can I reference Center Sphere here?
    7.         Vector3 point = new Vector3 (0, 0, 0);
    9.         transform.RotateAround(point,axis,angle);
    10.     }

2. Velcrohead

Velcrohead

Hey buddy, not totally sure I'm understanding what you're after but what I got from it is: