Search Unity

Server architecture & framework for an online game (with lobbies / hubs, missions, chat)

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Neray96, Sep 9, 2020.

1. Neray96

Neray96

Hi guys,
    I am about to finish my master of informatics and I wanted to use my last semester break to think about how you would approach developing an online multiplayer game. While I definitely do not want to develop an MMO and invest my next 5 years into such a large project, I still find it very interesting to think about how you would approach building such a system. Unfortunately, during my studies I mainly focused on machine learning, AI and stuff like that and therefore I have very little knowledge about networking technologies. So hopefully, you guys can give me some insights, tips or links to other interesting resources!

So, lets make this more precise and talk about the game that I envision from the users point of view:
    1. you are presented a login screen, have to type your name and password as usual
    2. you are presented a character selection screen and can click on your existing character to continue playing (of course you created that character sometime earlier)
    3. you press on start and find yourself in let's say a town. This acts like a lobby where you can see many people (lets say 30)
    4. you invite up to 3 of your friends to join your group (the friends could for example also be in another lobby / town)
    5. you click on let's say a portal and you and your friends are now teleported into a mission.
    6. here you play the actual game and lets say kill some monsters (only you and your friends can enter this "mission" no other players are supposed to join you)

Well, I hope you get the basic idea. I think there are multiple games that work somehow like this, having lobbies and missions only for you and your friends. One example that comes to mind is Warframe.

Now, let me present you my thoughts on implementing such a game:
    To realize...