Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Serializing an entire scene?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Lethn, Apr 2, 2016.

1. Lethn

Lethn

So I'm studying Serialization and it does make sense, I'm looking specifically at the Data Persistance youtube tutorial that the Unity channel itself posted up.

However what I want is to record the entirety of my scene like with most games that using saving and loading and have the player position along with all the destroyed gameobjects and so on. How would I do this? I read in the comments page you can actually Serialize entire scenes but I have no idea how you would make the scene an integer as the comment said.

2. Lethn

Lethn

Hope you don't mind me bumping this, I'm searching around but I haven't found an answer yet to Serializing scenes.

3. seldom

seldom

Are you trying to save and load the gamestate? Then you don't need to store the entire scene, but only the changes it went through: the difference between the scene's initial and current state. There any multiple ways to implement that. Which one is best for you depends on your project.

4. Lethn

Lethn

Well what I want to worry about most are the pickups and the player position and yes, that's the main thing, I have a ton of collectibles and I want the game to know whether they have been destroyed or not after I load back in again when I quit.

5. Lethn

Lethn

Okay, so I found this Serializer asset in Unity which in theory does exactly what I wanted.

https://gitgud.io/TheSniperFan/unityserializer-ng

The older version could be installed but naturally I came across a bug so I went and grabbed it off this guys site where it's supposed to have proper support for Unity 5, however I came across this error.

Does anyone already know how to fix it? I've sent an email to the address provided on the website just in case.