Search Unity

Serialization - Why Should I Use It

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ippdev, Mar 15, 2017.

1. ippdev

ippdev

I have been coding for about two decades and started in Unity using UnityScript as that was the paradigm way back then. Having transitioned over to C# for some time now I have my certain practices to keep a handle on things during development like making all my variables that I need to see values of for tweaking or comparing deltas between states as public so I can review them in the Inspector in Edit Mode or Runtime. I later, after zeroing in on that magic value make the variable private and no longer reviewable in the Inspector as it is what it needs to be and won't change. I have never Serialized any object or variable except in a few Editor scripts and it never seemed to cause any errors or warnings and the application worked as I wanted it to, even with massive data sets. So why would I want to or need to serialize anything? Is this just more needless compsci MS backflipping for no good reason or am I missing something important?

2. Lethn

Lethn

Serialisation is absolutely vital for saving and loading, if you are making games that won't ever require saving and loading to work then yes, you could potentially need never have to learn it. However you will find that if you plan on scaling up your projects and make any kind of progression based game that lasts longer than a couple of hours you will be extremely limited.

Adding to that, gamers will be extremely frustrated if you develop a longer game and they can't save various things. I remember seeing one game on steam and what was interesting about it was that it was a quite small game with progression in it but the fact that the game had no saving and loading at all meant that the gamers were extremely frustrated with it and leaving lots of negative reviews just because the developers hadn't put it in.