Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question [Sequences] Is there no way for a sub-sequence to pause the timeline?

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by Invertex, Feb 24, 2023.

1. Invertex

Invertex

Using Sequences, I have my Master Sequence, which then has child sequences, and those sequences have further children, as is shown in some example projects.

I need sub-sequences to be able to change the time of the Timeline, but for example on
    ProcessFrame(Playable playable, FrameData info, object playerData)
    , calling
    playable.SetTime(time)
    doesn't seem to actually change the time of the graph. It's only if I directly reference the Master Timeline and set time on that, will it actually change the time.

Is it necessary to reference the master timeline to do any time changing? If so, is there a way to actually get the master timeline without having to bind it to my tracks?

2. akent99

akent99

I think its the master timeline that knows the "real" time. That is where you seek to. From that timeline, it can work out which sub-timeline to apply, but its all driven from the master timeline. So I am not surprised you have to update the master timeline playable. (It would stomp on any child changes I assume.)