Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We’re making changes to the Unity Runtime Fee pricing policy that we announced on September 12th. Access our latest thread for more information!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Bug Sequence too heavy without timeline playback in Unity 2022.2

Discussion in 'Timeline' started by tsujihaneta, Dec 14, 2022.

  1. tsujihaneta

    tsujihaneta

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    I use Sequences.
    The environment is as follows.

    Unity 2022.2.0f1
    Sequences 2.0.1

    When checked in the Profiler, the Self ms in
    UnityEditor.Sequences.SequenceIndexer.RecomputeSequencesValidity
    is a very long time because the operation is very heavy, except during timeline playback on the Editor.

    This does not occur in the following environments.
    Unity 2021.3.12f1
    Sequences 1.1.0

    Thank you in advance for your help with the above.
     
  2. tsujihaneta

    tsujihaneta

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Having any playable director on the scene now improves performance.
    This is so strange.
     
  3. tsujihaneta

    tsujihaneta

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    During the update, the following error was missed.
    We do not know what this error means, but it seems to be related to this bug.

     
  4. tsujihaneta

    tsujihaneta

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    "Library\PackageCache\com.unity.sequences@2.1.0-pre.1\Editor\Core\Utilities\IconUtility.cs"

    If you comment out as follows and restart UnityEditor, the behavior seems to be improved.

    Code (CSharp):
    1.         [InitializeOnLoadMethod]
    2.         [ExcludeFromCoverage]
    3.         static void PreloadIconsOnStart()
    4.         {
    5.             //EditorApplication.delayCall += PreloadIconsWithDelay;
    6.         }
     
  5. JunL_Unity

    JunL_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Posts:
    17
    Hi there! Thanks for the feedback. We weren't aware of this issue and have now logged it on our end so we'll take a look.

    As a side note, it is normal that this issue wouldn't occur in Sequences 1.1.0. The
    RecomputeSequencesValidity
    mechanism was only added in 2.0.1 when we moved from IMGUI to UIToolkit.
     
    tsujihaneta likes this.