Search Unity

Seperate to structure, or everything in one script?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Deleted User, May 27, 2015.

1. Deleted User

Deleted User

Hi guys,

i have a discussion running with a scripter about structuring and separating things in unity and I am posting this topic here to get the opinion of reasonable programmers with experience in structuring and planing things on projects. Btw i am not a programmer by myself but I think I am not that bad in structuring processes.

Anyhow, my suggestion was to split all necessities of a regular game in main categories/modules to have a logic script above using them properly. My goal is to avoid a mess of unlimited lines of code for a faster clean-up or other optimizations and the possibility to enhance new features in the future, instead of throwing everything into one script, like the scripter with whom i have this discussion wants to do. What would be a better way?

My conception would be:

LOGIC SCRIPT (contains all the game logic and connections to other scripts & events)
    ↳ PLAYER SETTINGS (movement, controls, behavior, spawn & death settings etc.)
    ↳ GAME MODE SETTINGS
    ↳ WEAPON SETTINGS
    ↳ etc.

Would my kind of approach make things complicated or is that the usual approach of a professional programmer?
    He says my structure would be much more complicated than managing it in one single script. I just want to have more overview on each module. And I somehow can't get used with the idea to throw every process of the game into one or two scripts! However, isn't it possible to create classes out of each module i'd like to separate and use them in main script. Anyhow, he refuses to go with my idea, nor does he provide a different solution except to throw everything in one script.

I am really curious about your opinion out there!

Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2015
  2. Munchy2007

Munchy2007