Search Unity

Question Selective Outline with Rendererer Features > Render Objects?

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by Deive_Ex, May 23, 2020.

1. Deive_Ex

Deive_Ex

TLDR: Is it possible to do a "selective outline" using the "Render Objects" from the "Renderer Feature" options?

So, I'm testing Shader Graph and trying to learn more about how the new Render Pipeline stuff works and one thing I've always liked was outlines on cartoon/anime characters, and so I've started searching how to do that on the new pipeline.

I'm no shader expert, but I do know a little bit of shader programmin and I know how you could simply add a new pass on an existing shader that created the outline, but from everything I've seen, that's not possible anymore in the new pipeline.

Then I found about Shader Features and, specifically, the new "Render Objects" option, and thus I was able to add a outline following the example shown here:

And I think the fact that you can override the material of certain objects without having to edit the object or the material its using is pretty awesome!

But then, on one game I'm working on, I'm doing a little feedback thing where the outline only appears when you place the mouse above the object, and so here's my question: Is it possible to do this same type of "selective outline" using this "Render Objects" feature?

2. tjmaul

tjmaul

Yes, that’s possible with the option provided in the video roughly at 14 minutes. You can define a layer that will be rendered with an outline. All you have to do is to change the layer of the object that is hovered and setup the render feature as shown in the video.

3. Deive_Ex

Deive_Ex

Well, true, but what if I'm already using a layermask for the raycast to detect which objects should be selectable? If I change the layer of the object, my raycast won't hit it anymore?