Search Unity

Selected Visual Studio is missing required components and may not be able to build the generated...

Discussion in 'Windows' started by nyarsulik, Apr 25, 2018.

  1. nyarsulik

    nyarsulik

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    53
    "Selected Visual Studio is missing required components and may not be able to build the generated project."

    I recently had to reinstall VS and now my projects won't build. I am getting the error message on the Build Settings window but it doesn't actually say what I am missing. Image attached. Any ideas on how to find what is missing?

    Trying to build to UWP
    Visual Studio 2017
    D3D
    SDK - 10.0.16299.0

    Thanks!
    Nick
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,417
    What happens when you press build? It should still spit out a Visual Studio solution, and when you open that in VS2017, it will tell you what's missing.
     
  3. andrewsolis

    andrewsolis

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    I too am having this issue, a solution would be helpful.
     
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,417
    ^ It's merely a warning, not an error. It shouldn't prevent you from building your project.
     
  5. nyarsulik

    nyarsulik

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    53
    I will double check, but I am 99% positive it didn't leave anything in the build folder after it completed. Loading Unity now and will try to build once more...
     
  6. nyarsulik

    nyarsulik

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    53
    Looks like something else might be my problem. I'll check this out and see if I can figure it out. I missed the note about ProBuilder being included for free now, going to try to switch to that package and see if it helps.

    Shader error in 'ProBuilder/Standard Vertex Color': syntax error: unexpected token ';' at line 288 (on d3d11)
    Compiling Vertex program with UNITY_PASS_FORWARDADD POINT_COOKIE LIGHTMAP_OFF DIRLIGHTMAP_OFF DYNAMICLIGHTMAP_OFF
    Platform defines: UNITY_ENABLE_REFLECTION_BUFFERS UNITY_NO_CUBEMAP_ARRAY UNITY_USE_DITHER_MASK_FOR_ALPHABLENDED_SHADOWS UNITY_PBS_USE_BRDF1 UNITY_SPECCUBE_BOX_PROJECTION UNITY_SPECCUBE_BLENDING UNITY_ENABLE_DETAIL_NORMALMAP UNITY_HARDWARE_TIER2 UNITY_COLORSPACE_GAMMA UNITY_LIGHT_PROBE_PROXY_VOLUME UNITY_LIGHTMAP_RGBM_ENCODING
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2018
  7. nyarsulik

    nyarsulik

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    53
    I still had a bunch of build errors after upgrading to the Package Manager version of ProBuilder, but it did still output the build in the folder this time. I don't see a way to "close" this thread, but I think it can probably be closed now. :) If I run into a different problem I will search or post again.
     
  8. nyarsulik

    nyarsulik

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Posts:
    53
    Final update, switching to 2018.2 and also switching to IL2CPP instead of .NET seemed to fix my issues. I was able to build and launch through VS2017 without any errors.
     
    johndpalm likes this.
  9. raa88

    raa88

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks for the updates
     
  10. Elisson357

    Elisson357

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks for Sharing This.
     
  11. YoloJero

    YoloJero

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    Hey everybody

    I had the same warning in the build settings using Unity 2018.3.4f1 and IL2CPP

    what fixed it for me was opening the Visual Studio 2017 Installer

    hit Modify

    and additionally select the Optional Package
    C++ Universal Windows Platform tools
    from
    Universal Windows Platform development
    for install

    (had to restart Unity after installing it to make the warning disappear)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 3, 2019
    chongdawei, timokii, Shizola and 2 others like this.
  12. nuxvomo

    nuxvomo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks! That's exactly what I needed to do :)
     
  13. stephenl_unity

    stephenl_unity

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    @YoloJero You absolute hero. Thank you for posting this fix