Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug Segmentation fault (core dumped) in Standalone App but not in Editor

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Tornar, Jan 18, 2022.

  1. Tornar

    Tornar

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Posts:
    87
    Hello,

    My game is closing abruptly with only a "segmentation fault (core dumped)" error in console, no errors in Player.log, and it only happens in standalone, playing in Editor it never happens.

    I'm going crazy to try discover why it is happening, anyone know how can I debug this kind of error?

    I have seen that it works well if I delete aprox. 500 objects of the scene, but it doesn't make sense, anybody could help me?

    More Info:
    Everything works perfectly on Mac and Windows, only fails on Linux (Ubuntu 20.04LTS).

    The error has started when I have imported a package of the world game. I have done it hundreds of times without problems until today.


    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2022
    deus0 likes this.
  2. Tornar

    Tornar

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Posts:
    87
    Wow! After two days of tests and going crazy, I have found out that disabling "Graphics Jobs" in Player Settings, everything works perfectly other time. Can anyone explain me why?

    Thanks!
     
    deus0 likes this.
  3. Tornar

    Tornar

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Posts:
    87
    It only happens in Linux, and it works perfectly with "Graphics Jobs" setting activated in Windows and Mac, so I think it is a bug. Anyone of Unity Team could tell me if I need report it in another place?
     
    deus0 likes this.
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
  5. Tornar

    Tornar

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Posts:
    87
    Ok, I have reported it in Unity Editor,

    Thanks!
     
  6. GambitMonkey

    GambitMonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Posts:
    65
    I am having this same issue in Unity 2021.2.17f1 and unchecking the Graphics Jobs did not fix it. I am getting this error in both Mono and IL2CPP builds of the project. I have created a new HDRP project with one scene which just displays text on the screen and same behavior.
     

    Attached Files:

    peq42 likes this.
  7. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    It's very likely you're running into a different issue. Please report a bug.
     
  8. Tornar

    Tornar

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2020
    Posts:
    87
    I already reported the bug, but Unity team has no been able to reproduce the error. I guess they don’t have looked into it seriously
     
    deus0 likes this.
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    What's the bug number?
     
  10. deus0

    deus0

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Posts:
    256
    I'm getting the same issue but this does not fix it for me. It only crashes in non development IL2CPP linux builds after booting the game.
     
  11. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,756
    Probably not the same issue then. I'd suggest reporting a bug.
     
  12. deus0

    deus0

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Posts:
    256
    Hi,, I found out (sorry for late post) that it was due to entities auto bootstrapping. It's been bugged for a couple of years! I made a custom bootstrap and that seemed to fix it. I tested this by comparing the logs with a mono build which showed the error. Other then this it did not throw an error in the il2cpp build logs. I made a post about it!
     
    Sinister-Design likes this.
  13. peq42

    peq42

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2022
    Posts:
    78
    I get this same exact issue on 2021.3.14 lts
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2022
  14. Miqeo

    Miqeo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    In the Player Settings -> Scripting Backend change from Mono to IL2CPP. It helped me on linux mint. (Unity 2021.3.15)