Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug search window keeps sticking

Discussion in '2021.2 Beta' started by laurentlavigne, May 22, 2021.

  1. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    previously when clicking outside the search window it would close, which is the perfect behavior that's been battle tested in MacOS
    Now the search window appears and stays onscreen because it is now a tab.
    The problem are multiple and have been discussed at length with zero feedback from the product team.
    I'm ready to change my ways if they improve workflow and thus far they impede it.
    So what's the reasoning behind that?
     
    Ruchir likes this.
  2. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
  3. jonathans42

    jonathans42

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Posts:
    514
    Yes that is the new design. Here's a few options:
    1- ESC will close the tab
    2- Double clicking/Executing an item will close the window.

    So in your case you preferred when the Window was an auxiliary popup that was discard once focus leaves the window (like in QuickSearch ~1.5)?

    We can easily bring back that mode if want. Actually it is still there with a bit of magic (code). I can share that code snippet if you want to bind it to you preferred shortcut.
     
  4. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    Sure that would be cool
    Riddle me this: why don't you add a little pin tac ? it's been done for 2 decades and is a standard people automatically recognize. Everybody wins.
     
    Ruchir likes this.
  5. jonathans42

    jonathans42

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Posts:
    514
    We will add a new transient way of popping the window, mean while you can do:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. [MenuItem("Window/Search/Transient Window", priority = 1)]
    3. public static void OpenPopupWindow()
    4. {
    5.    SearchService.ShowWindow(defaultWidth: 600, defaultHeight: 400, dockable: false);
    6. }
    7.  
    upload_2021-5-31_13-39-28.png


    upload_2021-5-31_13-39-51.png

    Clicking outside the window will close the popup/auxiliary window.

    You might now have the black border depending on the version you are at.

    Thanks,
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  6. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    Perfect, thank you and wow window size, that's a nice level of customization!
    Does that transient flag exist for other windows like the inspector?
     
  7. jonathans42

    jonathans42

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Posts:
    514
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  8. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,650
    I could certainly use it for my own tools too. Would be useful if you can expose this functionality to the EditorWindow API.
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  9. Ruchir

    Ruchir

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    934
    This would be ideal IMO
     
  10. Ruchir

    Ruchir

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    934
    Yeah, they would be certainly helpful for things like full scene view workflows, like Peek has for scene view editors, and are pretty great.
     
    laurentlavigne likes this.
  11. laurentlavigne

    laurentlavigne

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    6,473
    I did it and it works well. But that button triggers the old one and I keep pressing it by mistake, might as well be useful, how do I change its function?

    Wow! an API for search? this is very cool. Hopefully we see that for every other part of the unity editor. And a command log mode for the console so we can copy paste the commands that are called internally, like in Maya
    what is an example of multiselect? what is context? the doc could use more words to explain that.