Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Scripts to do standard things ?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by thefinn, Jan 12, 2015.

1. thefinn

thefinn

I'm kind of frustrated with the "stealth" tutorial in that it has you create a movement script (for instance) where you use the wasd keys to move around. However, it doesn't show you how to make them move the character forward, left, back, right... instead they move n.w.s.e all while it gets you to create a camera view which constantly changes angles based on how visible the character is.

I am wondering if there's a good area to find scripts that can be used for moving a bipedal character around - which is pretty generic and I'm sure people just "have stuff for this".

I'm still learning sure, but I don't want to get bogged down too much on physics and graphics and things of that nature. The idea I have is on the far end of the "hard slog" scale in terms of work and I'd like to really get my teeth into some of the UI and tables elements I have in mind.

Any examples of a camera controller where the player can control the camera view would also be great.

Any help appreciated.

2. angrypenguin

angrypenguin

Moving a character relative to the camera is indeed fairly simple with a little 3D math. All you need to do is convert the input direction into camera space. That sounds nasty to begin with, but as you get practice with your 3D math it's pretty straightforward.

A simple way to do this is to multiply your input by your Camera's Transform's forward/up/right instead of using the input directly. To make this work nicely you'll want to flatten them (clip out the axis you're not using, so typically setting y to 0) and then re-normalize them.

So, for moving foward you might have something like this:
    Code (csharp):