Search Unity

Scripts structure, communication and organization - "Weapon System"

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ouraf, Nov 22, 2019.

1. ouraf

ouraf

i need some help with code planning, communication and organization.

obs: I'm a beginner scripter, please be kind with me.

I'm making a variant of the space shooter game (the one GameDevHQ and a lot of people makes on their tutorial). On this one i want the weapon change to work with ammo (if ammo < 1, change the prefab to the default shot).

I also want to change the delay between shots based on which weapon (to make a machinegun and slow shotgun behavior, for example).

That isn't much, but it has some implications that are confusing me.

When i had only one weapon, i made a "PlayerShoot" script and nested a bunch of variables there:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public GameObject projectile;
    2.     [SerializeField]
    3.     private float allowFire = -1f;
    4.     private float shotCooldown = 0.3f;
    The idea was that if i only changed the shot shape, trajectory or speed, all of this would go on the projectile prefab loaded on the editor.

But if i want to make a lot of different weapons, i need to either:
    1. make a gigantic class with all values from all weapons there (i don't want to do that)
    2. make a variable to EVERY SINGLE WEAPON, attach all weapons to the player and do a lot of true/false to change bewteen them (i don't know if that's right)
    3. to write and use the shotCooldown and other variables on the other weapon script inside the prefab loaded at the time. (the design patterns says each object must deal with only one thing, so would this be the right way to do it?)
    And here's where things kinda get out of place for me: i don't know the right method of referencing a variable inside a script that change names with every weapon i have
    upload_2019-11-22_12-39-38.png